Never Give Up

Never Give Up — This has become the quiet mantra of my life over the years. It’s the reminder and the motivation to always think beyond me.

My mother use to tell me that there’s always someone who has it worse than you. My adversities may seem great, but you may have more adversities to overcome than I do, so who am I to complain about what I don’t have or can’t do. I am fortunate enough to be who I am, to have been born when and where I was, to live where I am capable to afford and to still be in good health.

I may not be exactly where I want to be, but I will never get there if I stop trying. This can all be gone in a matter of hours by means of fire, flood, violence or by way of my own irresponsibility.

Too often we hold ourselves back by giving up too soon. We fail to challenge ourselves out of fear of failure, fear of what others may think of us, fear of going beyond our comfort zones and sometimes out of our own laziness.

This year has been eventful for me in so many ways. Not just politically, but in other areas of my life.

One of those areas was my decision to become an active blogger. I started this blog in 2006 out of the need for creative expression. No one seems to want to talk in depth about anything of substance. This is frustrating when you enjoy conversations about things other than sports, family and work. Those things are fine, but what are your views on the War in Iraq? Or why do you have a problem with gay marriage?

I will not begin to tell you about the discouraging things some had to say to me regarding my Thoughts, Ideas & Suggestions. It wasn’t just persons who disagreed with me politically, but some who just needed an excuse to be negative, because they were not happy with themselves.

The point wasn’t me, but including others in my challenge to think beyond the surface. Is it really what it appears to be or can I look at in from a different way? You never know, you may be wrong?

Fast forward to now…

Earlier this year I was watching Shon Gables of the Black Enterprise Report interview Michael V. Roberts, Sr. of Roberts Hotels Group. In summary Mr. Roberts asked the question, “Do you think outside the box? If so, what size is your box? More importantly why do you put yourself in a box? And who told you that you had to be in a box?

Now Mr. Roberts instantly gained tremendous respect from me, because that statement told me that he wasn’t just another entrepreneur that made it big, but he has proven that success and failure begins in the mind. I am not what others say that I am.

You should never allow the opinions of others govern your life. You should never allow the circumstances of life negatively alter or dictate your mood. What you believe may not always be correct or the only way. If you have a dream that others do not understand, don’t give it up to appease them, quietly get it done.

Your dreams, goals, aspirations or ambition may not be as big or small as mine, but whatever it may be don’t allow others or yourself to make you give it up. Regardless if you like the person or not Barack Obama obviously dreamed that he could be President or he wouldn’t have ran.

References & Inspiration:
Black Enterprise – 12/12/08 “Roberts Hotels Group Expands Its Reach
Michael V. Roberts (Personal Website)

2 thoughts on “Never Give Up

  1. Great post! Never give up, always adjust is what I tell myself when I’m facing a seemingly insurmountable obstacles – and, sure enough, once I have tried a thousand ways of adjusting to the obstacle (changing my attitude, my approach, my environment, something!), I usually figure out a way :)

  2. Yet another excellent post, Tim. Thanks for sharing its inspirational theme with the rest of us. I can also appreciate Sahar009’s wise comments in addressing challenges that we all may face from time to time. Kudos!

Comments are closed.