Education, Female, Gender, Health/Medical, Human Rights, Life/Living, Love, Male, Media, Opinion Editorial, Personal, Politics

The Pro-Truth Agenda

a2a_linkname=”The Pro-Truth Agenda”;a2a_linkurl=”http://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/05/03/theprotruthagenda/”;
How hypocritical is it for SOME Catholics to oppose or protest the invitation of President Obama at Notre Dame’s commencement, because of a single issue. Where was the same passion when young boys were being preyed upon by Catholic Priest and Bishops?

It’s perfectly acceptable to passionately express ones disapproval of a president or any politician’s position of a single-issue, but how can you reconcile the expression on one issue and not another that should go against ones religious beliefs? It makes your argument suspect or bordering on disingenuous.

The Catholic Church is not along in their hypocrisy, because many within other Christian churches fracture themselves with boisterous support against many issues made to be controversial that should be fairly easy to embrace or resolve. Many churches are divided along racial, political ideological and even economic class lines in some instances. Forever blaming the Devil with the devil’s work is performed by them.

Those who may only half read this and instantly assume that I am attacking the Christian Church, Christians or just Catholics, I ask you to read again. Then consider what I’m saying and challenge yourself. Exercise your faith and question what you believe with honesty. I am not coming against the Church or Christians, but challenging you to consider the true character of Christ instead of relying on self-righteous indignations and provocations usually motivated by malicious motives.

You may disagree with President Obama for his position on abortion, but does that mean he has no value or lack beneficial insight? Where was your opposition to war promoted by President Bush?

More importantly, where is the “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” I believe you can find Matthew 7:3-5 in the Catholic and Protestant Holy Bibles.

You may get mad, verbally assault or damn me if you wish, but I challenge you to answer the underlying question presented here. Concern yourself not on whether a person is Pro-Life or Pro-Choice, but on if they are Pro-Truth, Pro-Reconciliation, Pro-Mercy or Pro-Love. Quit all of this non-sense and think. Whether a person had an abortion or not, whether you are Pro-Life or Pro-Choice does not matter if you proclaim to be a Christian. God Damning anyone who doesn’t believe what you believe or who makes a decision to have an abortion is not a fair or even loving representation of the examples of Christ.

Pro-Choice does not mean Pro-Abortion and those who continue to promote the misconception that it is should bear the same measure of contempt as they do for those who perform abortions. Don’t masquerade dissension of a political figure or position in the garment of religion, thus you allow yourself to confuse God and the Government. (Hmm, that sounds familiar) Look for what’s true in a person or a position instead of always seeing what’s wrong with them or their position.

I’m going to stop here, but I’m sure this conversation will continue.

References & Inspiration
The Holy Bible (NIV) – Matthew 7:3-5
NPR: Tell Me More – 05/01/09 “Presidential Address Sparks Anger
Catholic Online – 05/01/09 “Montana Bishop Joins Outcry against Notre Dame
Google Search – “President Obama & Norte Dame
Standard

10 thoughts on “The Pro-Truth Agenda

  1. Pingback: The Pro-Truth Agenda

    • MiniVan says:

      Interesting. The Catholic church is not a Christian church. Catholicism came about during a 400-yr span of time before Christ Jesus came to Earth. Refer to Malachi – Matthew. During this time, there were no Messengers from Heaven, and idol worship came to an all-time high. This is when the Romans became powerful, using their superstitions to persuade people to believe in their made-up religion. Catholic bibles are not Holy Bibles.
      Those who follow Catholicism do not follow Jesus Christ.

  2. student says:

    When someone protects or supports abortion, is the someone protecting or supporting sin against God’s commands?

    • First, I thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to read what I have to say. I appreciate your response to my question by addressing it with a question, essentially avoiding addressing it.

      It’s a difficult question and knew that many may not understand exactly the point I’m making, but only focusing on abortion. But at least you was willing to respond. I believe the longer you read the blog the more you get the point I’m making.

      Seriously, thanks for reading.

    • I apologize for the harshness, but I get tired of the hypocrisy so many people, not just Christians continue to publicize and commit. Just be honest. I simply do not know how else to put it. When one can drop the rock of hatred towards a person, a group, a situation or an issue and learn to consider what they do not like in order to understand it or them then we begin to not stone each other with rhetoric or attitudes.

      No one still can answer the question of why I’m not suppose to like or love someone just because they may disagree with me or they don’t believe what I believe. We all have something in common and it’s actually very easy to discover only when you open your mind to see and receive it.

      Yes, I know I’m preaching to the choir right now, but I just wish I could figure out how I can get that point across to people that they begin to try it out for themselves.

      Anyway, thanks for reading. :)

  3. student says:

    This may be rhetorical. What does disliking or not loving someone have to do with criticizing the someone?

    If I am not allowed to criticize the President (or others) for being pro choice, is the reason because I am too much of a sinner or because the President is too much of a good guy?

    When is some other beyond the criticism of a sinner and when is a sinner ever allowed to criticize some other?

    • No one is even saying that you can not be critical of President Obama. Why is this always the excuse when people do not want to answer the questions asked. I’ve disagreed with President Obama, but it’s very interesting that when President Bush and even Clinton did something the same people who are all up in arms about a position were mysteriously silent.

      This is the second time and you still fail to address any of the questions, so I must assume that you do not have an answer for them. Because you keep focusing on President Obama instead of the questions asked that goes beyond any politician. Ignore, avoid or dismiss the questions if you’re uncomfortable with them. I personally give up trying to get closed minded people to consider others. I just give up, it’s useless.

      Perhaps you can read another post to disagree with me upon, even then I doubt that I would get a straight answer.

  4. student says:

    Your question about why you should not like someone you disagree with seems important to you. Nothing I know stops you from liking someone you disagree with.

    Your “Pro truth agenda” title seems to make your liking those you disagree with insignificant.

    Is truth based on what or who we like?

    Should the truth of abortion rest on our preferences, science, or a deity?

    • Once again, I give up with you. Believe whatever you wish to believe. You miss the point. And there’s no need to continue talking to a brick wall.

Comments are closed.