Radical for Christ

a2a_linkname=”Radical for Christ”;a2a_linkurl=”http://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/radicalforchrist/”;
Note: Now I had another title for this, but I was advised not to use it as a title due to the harshness of its secular meaning. So I decided to go with a softer title for this article, although I did slip my original title into the text. If you’re a sensitive person towards issues of race and religion, then this may not be the article for you.

Awhile ago I was having an interesting discussion with a few people about race and religion. Many of these people attended various Christian denominations, some where conservative and some where liberal, the racial demographics of these people varied and a few where not Christian, but was open-minded enough to express their religious/non-religious views.

We all basically have similar points-of-views and passion for incorporating both subjects together, so I knew we wouldn’t surprise each other too much. My purpose was primarily to bounce ideas off of them, because I respected their thoughts, ideas and suggestions about the subjects.

During our conversation a quote by Robert F. Kennedy came up that instantly put a smile on my face, because it basically defined the essential question I’ve tried to get people to consider for a long time.

But suppose God is black? What if we go to Heaven and we, all our lives, have treated the Negro as an inferior, and God is there, and we look up and He is not white? What then is our response?” – Robert F. Kennedy

Now my first response was, “Ahw Hell”. And that would probably be their next destination, but I’m not really worried about that. I personally love this question, because it makes people think about what they’re doing. You really should consider how you speak, think and treat others, because you never know who you are really speaking to. (Hebrews 13:2)

Not all, but many Christians often fail to realize what it is they are essentially doing. We see preachers; priest, politicians and people try to validate their positions or how I like to say their oppositions against something or someone with God, Jesus and the Bible. They are more concerned with God Damning people, than relating to them.

Understand that I mean no political malice by this next statement, it’s just an illustration. So drop your rocks, don’t stone me yet.

Not only has the Republican Party become the Party of No, but so has the Church. When the doors of the church are open, what does the world see when they peak in? Disunity and a practice of disingenuous divinity. Seriously, how do you honestly expect anyone to come to Christ if you’re misrepresenting him and his message? If this was Spiritual Apprentice Jesus would have to say, “YOU’RE FIRED”.

What’s so difficult about accepting people for who they are? Didn’t he accept you for who you were? Why should it be different for anyone else then?

Using the excuse of “It’s in the Bible” is not good enough, because love is in the Bible too, Thou shall not judge or God is no respecter of persons is in there too, but you seem to overlook that. Quit God Damning people and start to love and accept people for who they are today, not what you believe other fake a**Christians like yourself would think tomorrow.

So substitute Robert Kennedy’s statement this way by asking yourself this question.

Suppose God is whatever or whomever you oppose? What if we go to Heaven and we, all our lives, have treated someone as inferior, and God is there, and we look up and He is not what we thought he was? What then is your response?”

Consider others; treat them with dignity and respect. I may not be like you or believe what you believe or have had the same opportunities or misfortunes as you may have had, but we have the opportunity to respect and honor each other. I am no better than you and you no better than me. If we just start acting like Christ, maybe the title of Christian will regain the luster it once held.

OK, now you can pick up your verbal stones and launched them at me. I’m ready.

References & Inspirations
Thoughts, Ideas & Suggestions – 11/23/06 “They Might Be An Angel
The Holy Bible (NIV) “Hebrews 13:2
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. – 02/04/1968 “The Drum Major Instinct
Sen. Robert F. Kennedy – 08/23/1966 “Suppose God is Black
