Supreme Court Rejects Death Penalty for Raping Children

Published on Yahoo! News on 6/25/08, Associated Press Writer Mark Sherman – The Supreme Court has struck down a Louisiana law that allows the execution of people convicted of a raping a child.

In a 5-4 vote, the court says the law allowing the death penalty to be imposed in cases of child rape violates the Constitution’s ban on cruel and unusual punishment.

In the Majority Opinion of Justice Anthony Kennedy he is quoted, “The death penalty is not a proportional punishment for the rape of a child.” His four liberal colleagues joined him, while the four more conservative justices dissented.

There has not been an execution in the United States for a crime that did not also involve the death of the victim in 44 years.

Warning: brace yourself for what I have to say about this one.

***************************

MY OPINION & COMMENTS REGARDING THIS SUPREME COURT DECISION

I don’t see what’s wrong with Louisiana’s law. Perhaps we should just stone the people who commit the heinous act of raping a child to death. Perhaps rape all together, but especially a defenseless child. There’s a valid place for the laws governing Cruel and Unusual punishment, and rape is cruel in my opinion. If it was a crime of theft or drug related I can join the arguments against the death penalty, but I believe Louisiana had it right at first.

Stone them and leave their worthless body there for the buzzards.

Yes, I know this is a very harsh, unchristian-like, undiplomatic, unusual and somewhat cruel stance, but I think the gas chamber, electrocution, lethal injection or life in prison is too light of a sentence for this type of crime. I also think that going to level of a cruxifiction would be too much. Unless you think the government should consider the “eye for an eye” principle.

Now I’m sure someone is going to have something to say about this one, so I offer my apologies now if the harshness of my opinion has offended anyone. My solution may be wrong and barbaric, but as a father of a toddler and knowing individuals who were victims of this crime, although not a child I understand this is obviously one of my biases. I know that God is the one who we all will give an account of our deeds to regardless if you believe in him or not. I know that no one crime or sin is greater than another. I believe the state of Louisiana applied the correct punishment for this crime.

I hope my opinion doesn’t taint or distort your overall opinion of me. God’s not finished with me yet.

