Party of the People

Although I’m not a big Denver Bronco’s fan I believe that the place where John Elway played will have another great play to add to their historical playbook.

August 28th is a day with great historical significance.

On August 28, 1955 a 14 year-old boy from Chicago, IL was murdered while visiting his cousin in Money, Mississippi. An act on a day that I will speak with more detail at a later day (08/28/08 to be exact).

On August 28, 1963, eight years after the death of Emmett Till the same minister critics both Black & White, Republican & Democrat said was too young and inexperienced deliver a historic speech on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C. It was original titled, “Normalcy No More”, but you may known it as “I Have a Dream”.

I want to keep on going, but my purpose of this entry is to talk about another historic even that will happen on August 28th.

In a break of tradition, Barack Obama will accept the Democratic Presidential Nomination not at the site of the National Democratic Party Convention, but across town at Mile High Stadium and Home of the Denver Broncos.

Party officials said that the decision to move to the stadium opens up the political process to this historic event to 76,000 people, not just Delegates. (Source)

I was reading some of the comment by a few disgruntled Americans online on various news sites brings me to my comments today.

These Americans who are confined by tradition, bound by their psychological aversion to change and unwillingness to accept the overwhelming enthusiasm of Democrats, Republicans and Independents who has embraced the concept of what Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. has called the Urgency of Now.

These people are the ones who tell you that you’re not ready. It’s obvious that modern thinking Americans along with the rest of the world is ready for this change for America. The issue will be how strong is the will of the American people who embrace it against the efforts of those who are working to prevent it.

“An invasion of armies can be resisted, but not an idea whose time has come” (Victor Hugo)

To those who are oppose this change of venue for this political tradition need to understand that the Democratic Party is truly living up to its recent moniker of being the Party of the People. It seems that this move they are trying to be the party for, about and including all the people.

Personal Note:
This is not necessarily appropriate, but I can almost hear the music to “Fight the Power” by Public Enemy playing in the background.
One thought on “Party of the People

  1. I really get nervous any time that I have to host a party. I always run out of ideas. So I took advice from my best friend and checked out this great blog called http://www.partyinvitationsblog.com/. It really helped me to organise my party in a unique way. The blog offered some of the coolest themes, with great ideas on how to pull them off. When I used their ideas for my party, the party came out to be a big hit.

Comments are closed.