Bunny Beheadings in Germany

Before anyone writes me I’m offering my disclaimer. In no way am I condoning unprovoked violence of animals. Some believe rabbits are cute, but this is one of the weirdest and senseless stories I’ve ever read.

According to the 7/9/08 report by Steve Rosenberg of the BBC News, Germany is in the middle of a serial rabbit killer mystery. (Link to article)

Rocco and Felina are among the 30 pet rabbits killed in the towns of Witten and Dortmund since last summer. Many of the rabbits have been decapitated and the blood drained from their bodies.

Down at the police station, officer Volker Schuette shows me disturbing photographs of headless pet rabbits. A gruesome pattern is emerging.

Although this case hasn’t hit America just yet, it was reported that rabbits everywhere are in hiding. Even beloved characters have hired extra security until the case is solved, such as…

· Bugs Bunny

· Roger Rabbit

· Greg the Bunny

· The Wonder Bread Bunny

· that silly rabbit from the Trix cereal commercial

· the Easter Bunny

· Peter Cottontail

· And that rabbit from Alice in Wonderland.

Police has taken “The Tortuous”, “The Big Bad Wolf” and “Elmer Fudd” in for questioning. No arrests were made.

OK, OK, OK. Yes, I’m wrong for that one. I know bad joke. If my sister reads this I know she’s picking up the phone right now to give me a big BOO and tongue lashing. I don’t mean any harm. I talk about serious subjects most of the time and wanted to offer a chuckle.

Honestly, this is not a laughing matter and is very horrible. I wonder who and why any person would deliberately kill these rabbits.

