Get On The Bus

Today while driving on I-24 (Nashville, TN), I saw what appeared to be nice looking graphics on a bus several cars ahead of me. Being an aspiring web & graphic designer I thought I take a quick snapshot with my Blackberry for creative inspiration.

As I got closer to the bus, what did I see. It’s the Obama Bus.

I don’t know about you, but a smile still comes to my face when I think that it wasn’t too long ago that a Black Man like myself would be forced to sit on the back of the bus. Now a Black man can have a bus with his name and message plastered all over it as he travels freely around the country.

Some reading this may not be able to connect to this feeling that others have about this campaign. You may not even care. I just want to encourage you to be apart of this moment of history. The social, political and emotional transition we’re experiencing doesn’t happen often and may not happen again in your lifetime.

What part of history will you be on?

You may have voted for someone else during the primaries. You may not agree with every decision Barack Obama has made or will make as President, but you have to ask yourself the honest question that Ronald Reagan asked America approximately 25 years ago.

Are you better off now than you were 4 years ago?

I don’t know about you, but when I fill up the car I was driving when I took this picture in comparison to 8 years ago, “I must say NO. I’m worse off.”

When I see friends, family and neighbors being laid-off of their jobs at the same time the CEO receives a cushy million dollar package and a spot on the Board of Directors, “I must say NO. We’re worse off.”

When you see more FOR SALE signs up in your neighborhood than kids playing outside, “I must say NO. I’m worse off.”

When I watch my church members worry about their sons and daughters who are fighting in Iraq, “I must say NO. I’m worse off.”

When I’m shocked by the level of bias coming from people I use to lookup to and call friend, neighbor, co-worker or even family towards me because I choose hope instead of fear, I must say No. I’m worse off now than I was 8 years ago.

It’s time for you to get on the bus. It’s a short ride to November 4th, pick up as many people as you can along the way. Make sure they’re registered to vote and know where they are suppose to go to vote. If you live in a state that has early voting, take as many people to the polls as you can that may not have means to get there or may need encouragement.

Change… is coming to America.

Click to Register for Change

Get On The Bus.

4 thoughts on “Get On The Bus

  1. Watching history coast on by… What a blessing for us to be apart of this momentous time!

  2. Great point of inspiration! So many people just live life without realizing the impact of their decisions or choices. This election will affect us ALL. Vote wisely.

  3. I know it must have been really cool to see the “O” bus gliding down the highway. Since I’m a graphic designer, I’ve been admiring the clean graphics of the Obama campaign, including all the little icons and even the website. The team really did a great job of branding.

Comments are closed.