Monica Goodling: No Justice, No Job

The Justice Department concludes that Monica Goodling, senior counsel to former Attorney General Alberto Gonzales, wrongly considered political and ideological affiliations when hiring. Isn’t this called discrimination? I wonder what else went into the consideration.

The report concludes that Goodling, Sampson and others broke the law by considering political and ideological affiliations in selecting immigration judges, federal prosecutors and other candidates for jobs that are supposed to be free from politics.

Monica Goodling would regularly ask job applicants these questions:

MG: What is it about George W. Bush that makes you want to serve him?

TV: That would disqualify me right then, but I wouldn’t want to work with him anyway.

MG: Aside from the president, give us an example of someone currently or recently in public service who you admire.

TV: Again I would be disqualified right then, because I would only mention Democrats. According to Monica Goodling standards my answer would disqualify me.

MG: Why are you a Republican?

TV: Now cursing in an interview is a Big Disqualifier, but I would understand if you used a few in your response to this question. This should only be asked if you’re applying for a job with the RNC.

Monica Goodling knew that what she was doing was wrong.

When you can denied a job to Michael Battle, because his wife was a Democrat you know you’re out of control and essentially a sophisticated corporate gangsta. I give her some slack only because she’s a typical conservative Republican, it’s difficult to expect anything different. I’m just surprise that she was so gangster with it.

I can confidently make a BET that she (Monica Goodling) will either get what essentially is a “slap on the wrist” or allowed to walk free. Perhaps Bush will do a Scooter Libby move for her too.

***********************

Gangsta — a person who exhibits the traits or demeanor associated with the high risk lifestyle. You will find a gangster behind organized crime.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Additional Resources:

