Not Fit To Lead

Before I even start this one I know McCain supporters are going to get upset with me over this one, so I will give you an opportunity to do two things:

1. Keep reading, get mad and submit some dumb comment.

2. Stop reading, go to another website and continue to believe whatever John McCain tells you to believe regardless if it’s true or not.

I had someone to send me an email touting the moral character of John McCain. I wanted to immediately share my thoughts with her, but decided to save it for later.

Well later is now.

Although I have deliberately not offered much of a comment on Former Senator John Edwards infidelity because I’m happy that he did it now and not during the Convention in Denver. I don’t know what his motivation was besides the obvious, but it puts a spotlight on the fidelity of both Barack Obama and John McCain.

To my delight I couldn’t find anything that would even suggest infidelity on Barack Obama, but it’s a different story for John McCain.

Now I’m not suggesting that a man or woman can’t still be effective leaders if they have fallen short in their personal relationships. They are regular people just like you, only with a public spotlight on them. I’m sure that someone could twist my words, misunderstand my intentions or question my actions for some type of gain if they wanted. Especially if a certain recently retired Supermodel with a talk show is in the picture, but this is not about me.

Does John Edwards care less about poor people today than he did yesterday?

Would his affair lead him to change his position on NAFTA?

How would it alter his policy on Iran?

I personally think that it would hold no influence on his decisions. Of course the argument is that it’s not about the affair, but the lies that accompany the affair.

Every person who has ever cheated on their spouse is tempted to lie about it and many will until their conscience gets the best of them and they confess. Should this mean that this should be the end of their career?

It doesn’t matter if they are a politician, painter or a candlestick maker they can be forgiven. It doesn’t mean they will never make a good decision again.

Now I’m not trying to defend them, just say that they can be forgiven.

Didn’t John McCain do the same thing?

Oh you didn’t know.

If you believe that a person is NOT FIT TO LEAD because of their history of infidelity then I must raise the question, Is John McCain Not Fit to Lead?

Well Ms. Cindy isn’t John’s first wife (Carol). She became Mrs. McCain by the way of an affair.

I know, I know, you don’t believe me.

John has admitted it himself that he had “relationships” with several different women while he was married to his first wife. I’m quite sure Cindy McCain can relate to the pain of Elizabeth Edwards is feeling now.

John “Playboy” McCain left Cindy after she had been severely hurt in a car accident. Now that’s a pimp move. (Ref: 2002 Memoir “Worth Fighting For” John McCain)

So why John Edwards is now “not fit to lead” and John McCain is?

I know that time heals all wounds, but does it make you forget the accident too?

Now if a Republican god, celebrate and politician the Former President Reagan, Nancy Reagan and even Ross Perot made it very clear that they didn’t approve of how John McCain got rid of his first wife why is he “fit to lead”?

Former First Lady Nancy Reagan said during an interview when asked about John McCain, “Well, obviously this is the nominee of the party.”

Even Ross Perot said that “John McCain is the classic opportunist. He’s always reaching for attention and glory.”

Carol McCain (John’s first wife) said, “My marriage ended because John McCain didn’t want to be 40, he wanted to be 25. You know that happens…it just does.

Former Reagan Aide Nancy Reynolds said “Carol and her children were devastated. ‘It was a complete surprise”.

Ted Sampley, who fought with US Special Forces in Vietnam and is now a leading campaigner for veterans’ rights, said: ‘I have been following John McCain’s career for nearly 20 years. I know him personally. There is something wrong with this guy and let me tell you what it is – deceit.”

So is John McCain fit to lead?

Articles of Reference:

Los Angeles Times “McCain’s broken marriage and fractured Reagan friendship” 07/11/08

Daily Mail “The wife U.S. Republican John McCain callously left behind” 06/08/08

One thought on “Not Fit To Lead

  1. You know, if one out of every hundred American adults is in jail, there are four senators (out of a hundred) off the top of my head who are adulterers/financially dishonest/solicitous of prostitution. I guess power leads some people to believe that they are able to tweak the standards of decency.

    But who knows…Bill Clinton, FDR, and Thomas Jefferson were dishonest about their fidelity and ended up being celebrated presidents. Both Bushes have been rigidly faithful and the results were less than impressive. Is it possible that this country *needs* an adulterer as president?

Comments are closed.