Republican Quandary in Black & White (Part 2)

—Continued Post (Part 2)

You must keep in mind that although I’m Black, I am absolutely not a Republican. But I can understand the questions, dilemmas or inner-struggle many Black Republicans may face during this election.

Nobody wants to say it, but everyone is secretly looking at them like the pink elephant in the room. (Yes, I know it’s a Bad Pun. Please Forgive Me.)

I believe many Black Democrats would have the same dilemma if the GOP ever had a Black nominee. I personally see some Black Republicans that I believe would be outstanding Presidential Candidates. Far too often they are ignored and pushed aside by the extremist members of their own party. Black Democrats has a similar struggle, although not as difficult as Black Republicans have it.

The fact that Barack Obama is Black and is the Democratic Nominee for President with a very good chance of winning raises an interesting question to Black people included those who are Republicans.

Should I vote as a Republican or as a Black person?

Is it about race or is it about party affiliation?

Or is it about voting for who I believe is the best person without having everyone critique or make false assumptions about me if I choose to support Barack Obama.

What I believe that many Whites who are Republicans and some Democrats are missing when it comes to Black people voting for or against Barack Obama is this.

Many Black people regardless of Party clearly understand and can testify to some level of subjection to the negative racial attitudes in this country towards them. When they go into the voting booth, they go in with a history that many White Republicans and Democrats did not have to fight and die for. Many Black Republicans and Democrats continue to fight against the negative assumptions against them. Most Blacks see Barack Obama and this time in American history as a moment of truth.

When the story is told years from now, what part of history will you be on?

What will I tell my grandchildren when they ask me how I voted?

I don’t expect anyone who isn’t Black to fully understand the meaning of what I’m saying here. But we all must be honest with ourselves.

You may vote for John McCain for whatever the reason. That’s your right and I have no issues with that.

For many Blacks, Barack Obama represents something that is quietly understood that many people can not fully understand and is difficult for Blacks to adequately explain. What you’re reading is a good example of that.

Making comments that Black people are only voting for Barack because of his race is a big mistake and warn that you not to continually say that out loud. It’s like Black people suggesting that you are voting or voted for a candidate because he or she is White. I’m sure you wouldn’t admit to doing something like that. We’re “color blind” right?

Black Republicans will vote for whomever they deemed best suitable for the office. I believe they are smart enough to do what they know is right. So leave them alone.

I would absolutely love to a Presidential race with a Black Democrat & Republican nominee. That would be something. Perhaps my man J.C. Watts or Michael Steele can start thinking about that in 2012 (hint hint)

  • Steele vs. Obama
  • J.C. Watts vs. Harold Ford
  • Colin Powell vs. Cory Booker
  • You vs Me

I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. Since I like all of these guys. My only solution would be to get into the race myself so I can vote for myself.

Reference Sources:

The source of my inspiration for this subject comes from the following:

3 thoughts on “Republican Quandary in Black & White (Part 2)

  1. {I believe many Black Democrats would have the same dilemma if the GOP ever had a Black nominee. …

    Is it about race or is it about party affiliation?}

    Here’s something to think about: from The Myth That “Blacks Only Vote Black”

    “GOP gubernatorial nominee Ken Blackwell in Ohio received 20 percent of the black vote, which is above the 10 percent national average for Republican candidates. However, previous white GOP candidates for governor and for U.S. Senator in Ohio have generally won larger shares of the black vote; when U.S. Senator George Voinovich was re-elected as governor of Ohio in 1994, he received 42 percent of the black vote.

    Hall of Fame football star Lynn Swann was unable to effectively shift his talents from the gridiron to the political domain; he lost his race for governor of Pennsylvania, while receiving only 13 percent of the black vote.

    Maryland Lieutenant Governor and GOP U.S. Senate candidate Michael Steele appears to have been the most successful Republican candidate courting black voters, receiving 25 percent of their votes in his losing effort.”

    It’s quite clear: for African Americans, when it comes to voting for Democrats and Republicans it’s not all black and white.

  2. I think the notion that blacks will always vote for other blacks is as absurd as the notion that women will always vote for a woman. Like any other group, every african-american is an individual and votes according to his or her value system. While its true that there is overwhelming support for Obama in the black community, Kerry and Clinton received almost the same measure of support from the community… I believe the reasons for this are socio-economic, not racial. For example, take the theory of trickle-down economics often espoused by the GOP. Certain socio-economic groups are less likely to believe that giving tax cuts to corporations and the wealthiest individuals will lead to job creation instead of these individuals pocketing the money. The same goes for privatization of social security, deregulation, etc.

  3. I think that in the end, most black members of the GOP will vote for McCain.

    I would not be surprised, though, if Colin Powell was among those who voted for Obama. Powell is a social moderate (he is in favor of affirmative action- which is not the same as quotas, let’s be clear). And he felt he was used by the GOP in what has become the Iraq fiasco.

    I think a combination of goodwill toward Obama, and bas will toward the Republicans, could lead him to vote for Obama in a secret ballot.

Comments are closed.