If I was a Republican

It must be very difficult to recruit Blacks or anyone who isn’t a White Christian to the Republican Party these days. I had one guy who sees me in the hallways of the building where I work feel comfortable enough to ask me “If I was a Republican?”

To give the exact quote, “Hey brother I see you around the building and wanted to know if you were a Republican? I’m having a Debate Party Wednesday with some people in the different offices on the floor and want to know if you want to come.”

I was actually taken off guard for a minute. Not by the fact he called me “brother”, but the fact that he would think that I’m a Republican. I wanted to be offended, but there’s Black Republicans. I know some and they’re cool. We just disagree when it comes to politics.

Now some of you who has talked to me via email or just periodically read this blog can only imagine what went through my mind. (Don’t you wish you were a fly on the wall for that conversation?)

Well I was polite, but got my point across.

I started to smile as I wondered why he would ask me something like that. So I answered him and explained why I am not a Republican.

(Side Note: It’s still fresh on my mind. I had to write this down before I forgot it. The next section was actually written before I wrapped the other text around it. So there’s a clue inside how I put this one together.)

MY RESPONSE: Thanks, but I don’t think I would fit in. Not because I’m Black, but because I have strong opinions about the tactics McCain is using now. How would I explain it when I personally have friends who are Muslim although I am Christian? You have McCain supporters who are comfortable using language with a tone of hate. I will be a hypocrite and would have essentially disrespected our friendship if I deliberately associated with anyone who thought this way. I appreciate the invitation, but I must decline.

Now I know all Republicans are not racist or harbor hate, but I don’t see an outpouring of opposition to the crazies bring the party down. The Democrats has a history of the same hatred, but that was changed by Kennedy and Johnson with the help of Martin Luther King, Sr. (Daddy King, not Martin) but that’s a history lesson for another day.

Unfortunately there are many in the Republican Party that is willing to plunge into the dark abyss of cultural annihilation. Many who may disagree with the tone the campaign are passive participants that accept the politics of resentment by their appalling silence.

Where did the good Republican go? Someone call J.C. Watts or Jack Kemp.

In fact there are some good Republicans left that publicly rejected the negative and racially tinged tone of the McCain Campaign.

The question is that they have believed they can not win on the issues and have basically defeated themselves. Hence, rioting is not revolutionary but reactionary because it invites defeat. It involves an emotional catharsis, but it must be followed by a sense of futility.

There are some Republicans who are finally speaking out against this, but is it enough? Is it too late?

John McCain: If your campaign does not stop equating Sen. Barack Obama with terrorism, questioning his patriotism and portraying Mr. Obama as ‘Not One Of Us’, I accuse you of deliberately feeding the most unhinged elements of our society the red meat of hate, and therefore of potentially instigating violence… You are doing this in wartime. You are doing this as our economy collapses. You are doing this in a country with a history of assassinations.”

Frank Schaeffer

Republican Columnist

Baltimore Sun

WOW! What’s amazing is that the same people will smile in the face of someone Black or of another Faith. So this is the Republican Party you want me to join?

Look it, this doesn’t befit the office that she’s running for. And frankly, people don’t like it.

Rep. Ray LaHood (R-IL)

Republican Congressman

WBBM News Radio 780 AM

Conservatives who insist that electing McCain is crucial usually start, and increasingly end; by saying he would make excellent judicial selections. But the more one sees of his impulsive, intensely personal reactions to people and events, the less confidence one has that he would select judges by calm reflection and clear principles, having neither patience nor aptitude for either.”

George Wills

Conservative Columnist

Washington Post

I like the way Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. puts this type of extremism we’re witnessing from the participants of the McCain/Palin rallies. “The question is not whether we will be extremists, but what kind of extremists we will be… The nation and the world are in dire need of creative extremists.”

I also like the quote of “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.”

In the time of a growing global economic crisis John McCain and Sarah Palin has decided to adopt a strategy of distraction. Your own campaign advisors are quoted saying a few weeks ago in midst of our current crisis, “If we keep talking about the economic crisis we’re going to lose”. Where’s the maverick? Where’s the leader? The present actions and strategy is not measuring up to its rhetoric.

Reference:

Baltimore Sun – 10/13/08 “McCain’s attacks fuel dangerous hatred

Baltimore Sun – 10/13/08 “Hateful GOP rhetoric looks like bad omen

Washington Post – 09/23/08 “McCain Loses His Head

Honolulu Advertiser – 10/12/08 “GOP Accused of Hatred, Hostility

