A Clueless Conservative?

Click to listen to the story of this Clueless Conservatives (MP3)

At the 3rd Presidential Debate John McCain said that he was proud of the people who come to his rallies as he dismissed any accountability to the “fringe people” that attend. Well that number seems to be growing Senator McCain and it’s coming from Conservative groups.

“Obama talks about all those presidents that got their names on bills,” reads the newsletter. “If elected, what bill would he be on????? Food Stamps, what else!”

Diane Fedel, president of the Chaffey Community Republican Women in Federated, CA says it “was strictly an attempt to point out the outrageousness of his statement. I really don’t want to go into it any further. I absolutely apologize to anyone who was offended. That clearly wasn’t my attempt.”

“I didn’t see it the way that it’s being taken. I never connected,” she said. “It was just food to me. It didn’t mean anything else.”

Clueless!

“Sheila Raines, an African-American member of the club, was the first person to complain to Fedele about the newsletter. Raines, of San Bernardino, said she has worked hard to try to convince other minorities to join the Republican Party and now she feels betrayed. This is what keeps African-Americans from joining the Republican Party,” she said. “I’m really hurt. I cried for 45 minutes.”

And it’s not about race. Sure. But she’ll be the first one to say “I’m not racist. I have even voted for Alan Keys.”

I bet you have a Black friend too.

Diane and others take heed to this bit of advice from your friendly neighborhood Black guy. You must get rid of this Archie Bunker mentality towards Black people and any other race of people not like yourself. When you make these types of statements, then try to back it up with “it’s just food to me” or “I voted for a Black person” or “I have Black friends” or even “I’m not racist” is an indicator of your lack of understanding of the race.

I have a Jewish friend that I’ve known for a little more than 20 years, but that doesn’t mean that I understand the complexities of the Jews. I have Kurdish friends who practice Islam that I’ve known for more than 20 years, but that doesn’t mean that I understand the complexities of Islam or Kurds. I have friends who are White, but that doesn’t mean I understand the complexities of Whites. It only shows that I have had the wonderful opportunity to be exposed to people different than myself in terms of race, religion, culture and economics.

I voted for Al Gore, a White man, does that prove that I’m not a racist? No. So by saying you voted for Alan Keys doesn’t prove you’re “Cool with Black people”.

To not even comprehend the feelings of the Black & Latino members of your own conservative members will continue to make their efforts to recruit minorities to the Republican Party virtually impossible. This adds to the number of other racial incidents that has found comfort in the Republican Party.

Although I question the people I refer to as “The Good Republicans” through out this blog, I do respect them despite their party affiliation. I’m not a Republican for more reasons other than this case you have to admit that it just fortifies the arguments against minority GOP recruitment efforts. This is obviously not the party of Lincoln or Douglas, but the party that use to be known as the Democratic Party before they corrected themselves.

References:

ABC News – 10/17/08 “Local GOP Group’s Mailing Shows Obama’s face, Watermelon, Ribs, Fried Chicken on Food Stamps

The Press-Enterprise – 10/16/08 “Inland GOP mailing depicts Obama’s face on food stamps

The Seattle Times – 10/15/08 “…Waterboard Obama

