Palin Fashion

The Republican National Committee spent about $150,000 on clothing, hair styling, makeup and other “campaign accessories” in September for the McCain campaign after Palin, the governor of Alaska, joined the ticket.Some of the expenses include… $75,062 spent at Neiman Marcus in Minneapolis Minn., and $41,850 in St. Louis in early September. The committee also reported spending $4,100 for makeup and hair consulting.

With all of the important issues facing the country right now, it’s remarkable that we’re spending time talking about pantsuits and blouses,” said McCain spokeswoman Tracey Schmitt, who has been traveling with Palin. “It was always the intent that the clothing go to a charitable purpose after the campaign.

Well let me help you out there Tracey.

You’re correct, this is a minor issue, but the action speaks to the bigger issue that all Americans, both the ones you call Real and Un-Real are having. When a supporter who has bought into your campaign opens up their purse or wallet to donate to that campaign they expect that their money will go for something other than putting clothes on the backs of the running mate or her family.

Just like many Americans who will vote the Democrats, there are many Americans who will vote for the Republicans. What many of them they have in common is that they are hanging on by threads when it comes to their financial situation. Many Republicans and Democrats donate because they believe or support the message. I’m sure there’s some “White Working-Class” person lets say a “Joe the Plumber” who makes around $40,000 a year. They are doing good just to put clothes on their kids back from Wal-Mart, not Neiman Marcus or Saks Fifth Avenue. I’m sure that they would not approve of providing the funds of clothing the running mate’s family.

Didn’t the campaign just abandon Michigan and reports of a few other states?

I could be wrong, I’ve been surprised by Republicans before during this campaign. I want my candidate to look good on the outside, but if he/she has no substance on the inside my donation is in vain and supports a shallow campaign.

I would love to have someone give me $150,000 for a new wardrobe. Even if I go on TLC “What Not To Wear” I would only get $5,000. I would go crazy in Bachrach and Johnston-Murphy, but I would do something wild and walk into a debate with some “gators” on with the “thick and thins” to match. J (If you don’t understand that one, don’t worry about it. I’m just being silly)

Don’t believe me read for yourself:

The Washington Times – 10/22/08 “GOP Spent $150,000 in donations on Palin’s Look

Politico – 10/22/08 “RNC Shells out $150k for Palin Fashion

USA Today – 10/22/08 “Records: GOP Spent $150k on Palin’s Clothes, Accessories