California Proposition 8

I hope all who choose to read this keep an open mind as I attempt to explore this proposition in multiple installments.

I don’t live in California, I am a straight man, I am a Christian and I am Black. I have had the pleasure to have multiple friends who are Black, White, Latino, Gay, Straight, Male, Female, Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Republican and Democrat. I love who I am and what I am and honestly cherish the diversity of relationships.

I personally know people who support and oppose Proposition 8. I wanted to take a different approach towards it.

So What is Proposition 8?

BACKGROUND — In March 2000, California voters passed Proposition 22 to specify in state law that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California. In May 2008, the California Supreme Court ruled that the statute enacted by Proposition 22 and other statutes that limit marriage to a relationship between a man and a woman violated the equal protection clause of the California Constitution. It also held that individuals of the same sex have the right to marry under the California Constitution. As a result of the ruling, marriage between individuals of the same sex is currently valid or recognized in the state.


PROPOSAL — This measure amends the California Constitution to specify that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California. As a result, notwithstanding the California Supreme Court ruling of May 2008, marriage would be limited to individuals of the opposite sex, and individuals of the same sex would not have the right to marry in California.


FISCAL EFFECTS — Because marriage between individuals of the same sex is currently valid in California, there would likely be an increase in spending on weddings by same-sex couples in California over the next few years. This would result in increased revenue, primarily sales tax revenue, to state and local governments.


By specifying that marriage between individuals of the same sex is not valid or recognized, this measure could result in revenue loss, mainly from sales taxes, to state and local governments. Over the next few years, this loss could potentially total in the several tens of millions of dollars. Over the long run, this measure would likely have little fiscal impact on state and local governments.


According to California election results on Tuesday, November 4, 2008 voters in California voted 52.2% (5,682,788) Yes and 47.8 (5,193,623) No on Proposition 8.


California’s Proposition 8 was approved by 70% of Black Voters voted Yes compared to 53% of Latinos, 49% of Whites and 49% of Asians. So does this mean Black people agree with Mormons and the Religious Right? Did Prop 8 oddly bring these adversaries together or did someone get played?

Finally, Black & White Christians are coming together, but why on an issue that plays on fear wrapped up in scripture. Yes, the Bible does speak against homosexuality, but it also speaks about fornication, adultery and love. Where’s the proposition on those issues?

Was Proposition 8 a test?

Now I’m just a Christian, but didn’t Jesus say something about “love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” I understand your opposition and support, but if your argument against Prop 8 is based with biblical scripture shouldn’t the words of Jesus Christ found in Matthew 22:34-38 are apart of this equation too?

Why discriminate? What happen to love? Wasn’t Christ accused of homosexuality too? How did he respond and what can be learned from that?

Regardless if you were in support or in opposition to Prop 8 what will be next?

Perhaps a proposition that Black people are 2/5 of a man. Perhaps a proposition to revoke women’s right to vote. Perhaps a proposition that takes away the freedom of religion.

I’m not suggesting that I’m for or against it. I actually can understand both sides of the argument. What immediately came to mind when I listened to the arguments for and against Prop 8 was Hebrews 13.

If you decide to comment I ask that you read what I’ve written first, before submitting any name calling. I’m only expressing my thoughts, ideas and suggestions about the topic. You can make your own determinations and conclusions of where you think I stand. I know that some will only lash out, but I only want you to really think about where you stand on Prop 8 and whether you are participating in discrimination.

Are all men really created equal?


Additional References:
League of Women Voters of California Education Fund – 11/10/08 “Proposition 8
California General Election – 11/04/08 “Proposition 8
23/6 Political Comedy – 11/07/08 “Prop 8 Results Prove Black Christians are Just as Awful as White Ones
The Greatest Commandment – NIV “Matthew 22:34-38

3 thoughts on “California Proposition 8

  1. Many people strive to be decent – according to what they’re being taught in church. When you have the (white) Mormon church pouring millions of dollars into connecting with the religious ethnic communities, this was bound to happen. They all stand together to do good (so they think) for God. If they didn’t, then how could they hold their heads up in their churches/temples/synagogues?

    I know for sure that many black churches are taught that being gay is an abomination to God. If this is what people are taught, do we really expect them to see their acts as discrimination? I also know this is partly how Bush got into the Whitehouse. When he ran, he outreached with the well known black ministers who (of course) also had political aspirations. Those black ministers (one is on TV and has books and DVDs) started preaching about the sins of homosexuality. Black people voted for Bush against themselves, but for the Lord. My overly religious sister supported Bush – because of his stance on gay rights – thanks to her church. She could never connect the dots between discrimination and God. She doesn’t understand how her behaviour ensures that gay people can’t visit their partner in the hospital, can’t get insurance, can’t leave property to their partner, can’t get tax breaks. That is not what the church teaches her. And my words were nothing when placed against the power of her minister – who supposedly is the word of God.

    I will say today that we have Prop8 and rampant homophobia because of the church and its teachings. No other reason.

    *exhales* I believe I said a lot right there. 🙂

  2. Amen Sister. I won’t go to deep into this one, because I can go for hours on this one. But what clarified so many things in life was understanding the role Adam played in the Garden of Eden. I swear I will have to write a book one day. Genesis made so many things clear for me in life.

    As a Christian many people in church do not want to question or research. The minister is human, subject to mistake in misinterpretation just as myself. I we all just honestly self-examine our own lives and issues we will see that we’re not all that different.

    For people who claim the lifestyle of Christian I think it’s easy to love others and to see the image of God in others when you take the time to find him for yourself. You have to see him within yourself first, but we’re too busy to do that.

    If God so loved this world to give his only son to die for it why would he be homophobic or any other phobia? I though he said, Fear Not.

    OK I’m going to stop before I have to take up an offering.

Comments are closed.