vLingo

I realize that I rarely discuss about techie topics for some reason. It’s rare, because that’s the industry that I’ve been apart of since 2001. I’m not the most technical person and believe I’ve been mentally moving towards more towards my creative side, but occasionally I find geekish things very interesting.

One of those interesting things is a mobile application called vLingo. Now this is exclusive to Blackberry users. So now you can talk to your phone and it will learn your speech patterns and begins to understand you. It doesn’t care about your cultural or regional accent. You can send a text message without typing. Just speak, verify and send.

Say, for example, “Search Apple Store in Nashville” Your phone figures out what you want, finds it and shows you how to get there. No tapping, no thumbs, just good old speaking. I’ve used it on my phone and it learned the name “Barack Obama”. Since it’s not a common name it gave me multiple spelling at first, but now it understands what I’m saying and in this case who I’m speaking of. It even makes sending text messages easy.

vLingo translates your voice into text like nothing before. How does it work — click here to see.

Vlingo has recently voice-enabled the Yahoo! oneSearch™ application, but I changed mine to Google. You can now easily search for anything you need on your mobile device. It’s fast & easy! It’s available on the Blackberry Pearl, Blackberry Curve and the Blackberry 8800 series. I’m sure once the Blackberry Storm is released it will work with it as well.

To learn more about vLingo click here or watch the online demo.

Additional Resources
Blackberry Cool – 09/18/08 “Vlingo 1.1 for Blackberry Reviewed
Xconomy – 06/19/08 “Vlingo’s CEO Fires Back at Nuance Over Paten Lawsuit
Vlingo “Product White Paper (PDF)

One thought on “vLingo

  1. I noticed you using this. I’m a bit of a tech geek myself so I will be checking it out. Sometimes I want to “Tweet” or text something but I can’t because I’m driving.

Comments are closed.