A Party for Some?

As the United States get closer to a majority minority country what does that mean for its culture and politics. The GOP is now virtually an all-white party, and being an all-white party in the United States of today is an unmitigated liability.

So now that the election season is over I want to ask a question of you regarding this trend.

QUESTION:

Has the National Republican Party ruin their chances of attracting Non-White voters?

There are three conditions I require in your response:

(1) Include your Gender and race at the beginning of your response.

(2) The primary construct in responding is that I will strictly insist that all comments refrain from politically opinionated attacks against any political party, elected/appointed official or organization.

(3) Any racially or culturally insensitive comments will be deleted.

Your political affiliations should not be deemed as a barrier to responding to this question. It’s your opinion that matters. I seek your thoughts, ideas and suggestions regarding this question.

The intent of the question is not to suggest that the Republican Party can not attract Non-White voters, but why they have such difficulties in attracting Non-White voters. I only want to try to identify an area where the Republican Party has failed and what they can do to reverse it.

PS: Don’t fret I will ask a similar question regarding Democrats will be asked at a later date.

Sources of Reference and Inspiration:

Guardian.co.uk – 10/28/08 “Unbearable Whiteness of Being
Washington Post – 09/03/08 “In a More Diverse America, A Mostly White Convention
Politico.com – 05/27/08 “Letter to the Editor
Politico.com – 05/19/08 “GOP fails to recruit minorities
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel – 09/03/08 “The GOP’s Real Challenge: Diversity
The Latino Journal – 09/06/08 “Few Latinos at RNC Reflects Utah’s…
CNN – 09/04/08 “GOP Lacks Diversity, Says It Pushes Outreach
LA Times – 08/20/08 “Gov. Schwarzenegger Tries to Calm GOP Anger
8 thoughts on “A Party for Some?

  1. Female. Caucasian. Pagan.

    They isolate more than non-whites, sadly. Is it irrevocable? No, things always change. This may happen slowly over time or with a new man, of a non-Caucasian perspective, at the mast. The GOP seems to be the place for the white, Christian individual, with only a little wiggle room for anyone else.

    I almost thing that a bigger and more important question is whether a two party system is good for the political arena as far as the citizens are concerned? Can we truly smack all views into one column or another?

    1. EXCELLENT! I absolutely agree with you. Why should we (Americans) place ourselves in an either/or box. Yes we have other political parties, but they often never get any attention. Maybe that will be a future post. Well I think you have a new fan.

  2. That’s a good question and I may write a post on that soon. You know, there is no reason why the Republican Party *should* appeal primarily to whites (I’m white and a male, BTW). After all, are whites more conservative than any other ethnic group in the U.S.? Is there something about drilling for oil, favoring a greater religious presence in society, defending marriage against homosexuals, putting business interests before the environment, and desiring to make abortions illegal that is white-only territory?

    And then there are the exceptions. Rudy Giuliani was the Republican mayor of a major cosmopolitan city. West Virginia has two Democratic senators and a Democratic governor, but is overwhelmingly white.

    Maybe the problem is historical — white conservatives were exorcised from the Democratic Party after LBJ pushed the Voting Rights and Civil Rights acts of the 1960s to passage. Or maybe it is sociological — black and Hispanic families may not share Republicans’ distaste for gun control due to high rates of violence and gang membership in their communities. Or perhaps it’s Bush related — given his inability to help black residents of New Orleans or seeming callousness towards Muslim civilian casualties in Iraq.

    And finally, will it be a problem in the future for Republicans? Will Obama pursue an agenda that is too liberal and thus push some non-whites into the Republican ranks? Or will the Republicans have to change to attract more non-whites? I don’t know who is in charge of figuring these things out, but I guess we’ll have to wait through a few more election cycles and find out.

    1. I agree. I have found myself in agreement in the tactics of some Republicans and I am a Democrat. I mentioned back in August as a sidenote during the DNC convention that I wanted to go into detail about this subject. I know you already know this, but for anyone reading this comment may not know I want to preface this statement. I’m a 36 yr. old Black guy. I can’t speak for all Black people, but what I can say is that I’m sure that their are many Blacks and Whites for that matter that really don’t know or understand what caused the voting switch among Blacks in this country. I know you didn’t say this, but I absolutely understand where you are coming from. I’m sure you (msk08) already know this, but I say this for others reading this.

      Before LBJ the Democratic Party was much like the Republican Party is now. Many Blacks who was able to vote were Republicans. But the Republican Party was much different back then. It wasn’t until Kennedy’s calls that got Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. released from prison from ridiculous trumped up charges that Blacks begin to really migrate to the Democratic Party. I know their were other factors before this, but this was one of the major events that helped Kennedy win. But I’m getting off-base and onto another subject. In short I agree with you (msk08).

      I really thing the beginning of the real fall of George W. Bush and much of the right-wing agenda began with his response to Hurricane Katrina. That was an eye opener for the world to see. Now it wasn’t just Bush’s fault, there were some state level Democrats in the mix too, but the appearance of a lack of concern and treatment for fellow Americans was telling. The slow reaction to this crisis was similar to the slow response on 9/11/01. Where’s the war on poverty? Where’s the war on precaution? The fact that they were majority Black faces silently raised the question that race had to do with the response. It may not of had anything to do with it, but it could of had everything to do with it, who knows what goes on in the mind of GWB. The sad thing is that it was more than just Blacks who died during Hurricane Katrina, but their were many Whites, Latinos, Cajuns and others who’s faces are not represented.

      I believe that there are Black Republicans who I don’t understand why they’re not heard in their party. But the bigger question is why they don’t talk louder or if they are who’s silencing them?

      I don’t know, but I believe that Obama is generally inclusive by nature. He has a big plate of piping hot fresh crap being put on his plate. I can not see how he can solve all of it. Bush was a complete disaster on this country.

      Man, these are the comments I enjoy the most. I got to give you a big shot out.

  3. White. Female.
    I believe that when we begin to see ourselves as people with different views and not as people of one race or the other or one political party or the other (or the others) we will be able to elect true representation of the values and beliefs of our American body as a whole. We are diverse in color and thought, in beliefs and convictions. That is what should be making us great. Instead we seem to be ripping ourselves apart from the inside in order to be a democrat or republican. I’ll vote for an hispanic democrat or black republican if he or she stands for what I believe to be right. Until we find the day that we as a majority agree to stand behind the person of our same belief system and not the one who carries the same brand or appearance as we do, we will continue to swim against the current toward chaos.

  4. The best things in life are often the most difficult to achieve. Keep fighting for it, and we will leave closer than when we arrived.

Comments are closed.