My Gift to You

I hope no one expecting a gift from me in reading this, because I had to um… “Reallocate my methods of giving this year”.

Seriously, I actually feel a little guilty because I do not have the means to give as much as I have in previous years. I’ve tried not to let it bother me, but I’m subject to the same materialization of giving too. So the only things I have left to offer are my words.

I don’t want you to think that I don’t love, like or appreciate the value of our relationship, because I given you less this year. Regardless of the perception of my finances it’s the ability of giving that’s the true gift. If you don’t understand what I mean, just give me a minute to explain.

There are so many people who are tied into the materialistic aspect of giving, that they fail to realize the substantive aspect of giving. It’s not what you give, but what you’re giving.

Words hold more value than money and is traded everyday. Its worth can only be measured by the sincerity, truthfulness, passion and conviction of the person saying them. The words of a family member, friend or teacher that you keep in your heart, the words of religious and other sacred text has value. I still remember parts of the last conversation I had with my Granny before she died in 1992. The words of my little niece singing Happy Birthday to me a few years ago, the first time my son said Daddy, the words from some of you.

So regardless of what you are able to give materially, take a moment to give someone a kind word. Encourage someone else although things may seem difficult in your life. Reassure someone who’s struggling with an issue that it’s going to be OK, keep working at it. Give someone a message that you appreciate them. Take a minute to listen instead of speaking.

The value you put into your own words and the sincerity of its delivery can replace the guilt you may have. By doing this you are giving them a gift that will not end up in some landfill, collecting dust or returned to the store Friday. You will be giving…

Words are forever,

Tim Valentine

2 thoughts on “My Gift to You

  1. Wise words dear brother.

    I have found that I prefer spending quality time and good conversation with people that I care about and who care about me. If they really want to give a gift, then something home made or something they love and want to share with me. Such as a favorite stone, a hand drawn card. I prefer gifts that have a part of the person – not a part of the money making store. And since my cooking is so horrid, a container with something home made is one of my all time favorite presents.

    So yes, I like it when people don’t hurt themselves by spending money they don’t have. Sharing kind words is a great gift. I’ll remember to do that. Thanks for the lovely post.

    1. You know, you always put a smile on my face anytime I see your alias appear either on my Blackberry, Laptop or Desktop. Now if someone wanted to give me a million dollars I would happily accept it, but I’m sure that’s not going to happen.

Comments are closed.