A Queen Called King

This is my personal reflection, respect, appreciation and admiration of the late Mrs. Coretta Scott King. Thank You.

It was on this day three years ago (2006) the world lost what her equally remarkable husband once called, a drum major for justice, a drum major of hope, a drum major of peace. She was all of those things, but most of all she was a great woman. Mrs. Coretta Scott King.

I can only wish I could have met her, but I am thankful to have had the honor of receiving a simple Thank You letter from Mrs. King several years ago. I was compelled to write her to somehow express my sincere thanks and appreciation for all she and the King family and countless of others endured for someone like me. I had spent a year reading the autobiography of Martin Luther King and followed it as closely to the chronological timeline of events in the book to the day. Once I found myself staring at room 306 of the Lorraine Hotel in Memphis, TN it all became clear and became real to me. The book became real to me then.

I refused to tear up while I stood there, but I must admit that I walked away with not only a tremendous respect and admiration for the sacrifices rendered on my behalf and others, but I walked away with a renewed purpose and understanding. Soon after I got back home I immediately started to write.

Today I often find myself quoting Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., but have failed to speak about the person who kept what is known as “The Dream” alive. Mrs. King was a civil and human rights pioneer, hero and icon in her own right.

Although it appears that I have not quoted Mrs. King as often as I do Dr. King I have tried to convey a similar message of freedom and equality. I can think of a recent topic covered where this quote by Mrs. King would ring clear, “Freedom and justice cannot be parceled out in pieces to suit political convenience. I don’t believe you can stand for freedom for one group of people and deny it to others.” Perhaps I should question more than the saints, but those who believe they can’t.

So for now on you will hear more use of the words of this great woman. There’s so much that we all can learn from Mrs. King’s example. She was indeed a partner of the dream, but more importantly she was truly a Queen among Kings.

*Coretta Scott was born April 27, 1927 and died January 30, 2006.

References & Inspirations:
Antioch College -1948 – “Why I Came To College
Academy of Achievement – “Mrs. Coretta Scott King
The King Center – (Official Website)
2 thoughts on “A Queen Called King

  1. Coretta, in many ways, was as important as MLK was to level headed thinking when it came to Americans and race.

    Had it not been for her, I am convinced that Dr. King’s words and examples would not have prevailed so forcefully in the American heart.
    She kept alive the dream they tried to kill. Now we all keep it. Because she never let us forget.
    Just when we would, there she was. That timeless face and concerned brow.
    She loved us all, and we her.

Comments are closed.