Buttars Wait There’s More

Right before I was going to talk about the outrageous comments of another Senator Michelle Bachman (R-MN), State Senator Chris Buttars (R-UT) clips her with this little dozy. This time he tops himself and offenses once again.

Why are the people of Utah allowing him to represent them? Better question is does he speak for them?

WOW!

So I should be afraid of gays and lesbians now? I want to make sure I understand what you’re saying Senator. The biggest threat to America are not racism, bigotry, hate groups or even an economic collapse, but gays and lesbians. WOW! I guess President Obama needs to bring the troops back from Iraq and Afghanistan to help fight these insurgents.

Come On Now Dude, are you for real?

Before I start, you wouldn’t happen to be related to any political cartoonist would you or know anyone at the NY Post?

Really? OK, just a question.

Now let’s explore the era of thinking Mr. Buttars appears to come from by looking at the questions and statements he posed in this interview.

Sen. Chris Buttars’ Statement:

“Homosexuality will always be a sexual perversion. And you say that around here now and everybody goes nuts. But I don’t care.”

My Response:

So it appears that you have a distain for homosexuality. Your use of the phrase ‘sexual perversion’ is synonymous with Christianity. As a Christian myself I’ve read the same thing, and it raises another question that seems to get overlooked or ignored. Does it mean that someone who is gay or is a lesbian is not worthy to be loved? I thought that was the greatest commandment. I can go further into that one, but let’s stick to the comments for now.

Sen. Chris Buttars’ Statement:

“They’re mean. They want to talk about being nice. They’re the meanest buggers I have ever seen”.

My Response:

Really? I’m a straight guy who has had the opportunity to be friends with people who are gay or lesbian and I haven’t had any issues with them. Even when we may disagree on a point, it’s still respectable. The meanest people I’ve come into contact with are those who hold bigoted or backwards thinking views. They tend to make generalizations like… well I think you are well acquainted with the type of people I’m talking about.

Sen. Chris Buttars’ Statement:

“It’s just like the Muslims. Muslims are good people and their religion is anti-war. But it’s been taken over by the radical side.”

My Response:

That’s an interesting statement. I personally know Muslims too and all except for one has been very nice towards me. What’s interesting about your statement is that you speak about something being taken over by radicalism. I can think of a political party that seems to have an issue with that today. (Notice: I didn’t mention which political party.)

Sen. Chris Buttars’ Statement:

“What is the morals of a gay person? You can’t answer that because anything goes.”

My Response:

Although I can only take into account my interactions with someone who tells me that they are gay or lesbian, but I would think many would have the same issues that any straight person would have. It’s a difference in sexual preference not existence.

Sen. Chris Buttars’ Statement:

“They’re probably the greatest threat to America going down I know of.”

My Response:

Well I can think of a few others that are more of a threat than the sexual preferences of a person. Let’s see… The Economy, Cancer, Aids, Hate, violence, just to name a few.

Well State Senator Chris Buttars (R-UT), I wonder what you and those who agree with you response would be by these wise words of Mrs. Coretta Scott King. “Homophobia is like racism and anti-Semitism and other forms of bigotry in that it seeks to dehumanize a large group of people, to deny their humanity, their dignity and personhood.”

Was she any less of a person because of her views on this same subject?

References & Inspirations:
ABC 4 in Salt Lake City, UT – 02/18/09 “Buttars Responds to His Comments on Gays

2 thoughts on “Buttars Wait There’s More

  1. Hi Tim,

    Making broad generalizations is inappropriate in discussing any specific group–well-said, Tim. High-fives! We can only hope that Ms. Bachmann and Mr. Buttars will hold their contest for the “Open Mouth And Insert Foot Award” in private from this point on. Just when you think you have heard it all one of these two strikes again…

    Encouraged to see that you and Writechic have made contact–have a wonderful weekend sir.

  2. I agree. As far as the gay rights movement being taken over by the “radical side,” history has shown that people tend to get pretty radical when society doesn’t confer equal civil rights on them because those people are seen to be second-class citizens. The struggle for equality is still ongoing, for a lot of groups, but gay rights is the one area where the barrier still has not completely fallen.

Comments are closed.