I Ain’t Afraid of You…

As an American and a citizen of the world I think we are becoming a society of outrage. Wars and rumor of wars, but not war in the physical sense, but the emotional and psychological wars we continue to fight in our minds. The battlefield is our thoughts the weapons are attitudes and perceptions. The insurgents are a coalition of the unwilling consisting of the nation of lies, the state of delusion and the republic of misunderstanding. Collectively they are a nation of cowards.

America and in fact many other nations of the world fail to do is speak honestly, openly and sincerely about what divides us. Race, Religion and Sexuality and our misunderstanding of it is often at the heart of the problems.

Recently the U.S. Attorney General challenged us to think about what we are doing as a nation, a message I personally appreciated. It’s essentially a message I continue to try to deliver in various ways everyday, but I don’t have the prominence of an Attorney General. But many are trying to ignore the challenge by using disingenuous patriotic outrage over the statement of used by the Attorney General.

Some want to criticize Attorney General Eric Holder for the phrase “a nation of cowards” when speaking of race in efforts to deflect the meaning of his message to get you to talk honestly about race.

You’re doing exactly he is stating when you deflect the meaning of the message and reduce it to a phrase that when examine is true in ways.

It’s amazing how the same people complaining about being called “a national of cowards” had nothing or very little to say when Phil Gramm called us “a nation of whiners”. Where was your disingenuous outrage then? It’s an excuse for you to be upset. The disingenuous outrage over being called a coward proves that you are the one with problem. I don’t get mad when someone calls me a Nigger, because I know that I’m not one. What you do is not prove the person right by your reaction.

Think about the message the Attorney General is delivering. If you are a coward you would be upset by that statement and the entire message, because it’s calling you out. The spotlight is now on you.

I have repeatedly talked about race very openly and I believe many would say very honestly because of the very thing the Attorney General stated. If you do not believe me just do a search on this blog on ‘Race’ or ‘Race Relations’ and you’ll find numerous articles on the subject.

Racism is not a Black issue, nor is it a White problem. It’s not just a fact of life for minorities, but a reality for the majority. From the persistent attempts for assassination, the public words and actions of Republicans during the campaign to today, the needless words of elder Black civil rights activists in Illinois, former Klansmen outraged at their own political party, the words of so-called ministers of the gospel, the cartoons of a satirist, the hateful words of bigotry launched in California to the rising of the occasional Magic Negro, the meaning of the message is true.

I get criticized practically every week for something I’ve written and for raising a point that someone is comfortable with, even from the famed, Magic Negros themselves. I’ve been called every derogatory name associated with Blacks you can think of. I’ve been called White from Black people who assumes that I’m coming against my own race because I point out what is not right, fair or equal treatment that we do.

Awhile ago I told you about the “Magic Negro” syndrome, well here it is again.

Joe Hicks, a black Republican and the former executive director of the Los Angeles City Human Relations Commission, chastised Holder for his comments, calling them incendiary.

Here’s the first black attorney general appointed by the first black American president and he’s espousing views that appear to be almost ultra-left in their approach to race in America, that blacks are victims and whites are intolerant and accepting of quasi-racist views”.

Think about this. Now what difference does Joe Hicks race makes? Why is the fact he’s a Republican or a former director of LA Human Relations Commission matter? When you’re in trouble and it pertains to race relations; who do you call? The Magic Negro.

What the Attorney General is saying is true and the fact of those who are outraged proves its truth. Those outraged over a phrase do so because they do not want to realistically and honestly address the difficult and unsexy subject of race. When you don’t really understand who you are you are afraid of others.

The people who continue to misunderstand the irony of racism I ask you to think about it before calling someone a racist. Is there words who they are and are you what they say you are? Can it be silently proven by your actions or reactions? Eric Holder is not a racist, just as George W. Bush is not a racist. You may disagree with him, but what he says on this subject at this time is true. Listen to the entirety of his message and open your mind to considerations other than your own.

I applaud the Attorney General for making the statements, because it appears that the only way to get some to pay attention and stop the non-sense of the notion that since the President is Black, the Attorney General is Black and there has been great achievements made by Blacks that racism, bigotry and discrimination is over in this country. You’re fooling yourself. We have seen it repeatedly each week that its not.

I swear I got to go back to school and get a PhD, so I can have the credentials to teach this stuff, because it’s as transparent to understand as the souls and intentions of Rush Limbaugh, Karl Rove & Bill O’Reilly. 😀

You may disagree with me on many issues, but in the end none of them are important. If there was not government or religion there will still be us; a race of people. People of many variations, shades and complexions all important all with value.

So I say it AGAIN the same reality that is undisputable. We are all caught in an inescapable network of mutuality. In order to not be considered a coward we must not conduct or react as the true definition of a coward.

Talk to me. Your silence says more than your words of contempt and outrage of any subject. What are you silent about? When are you silent? Why should I take you seriously when you fail to speak up on important issues? Your insensitivity and lack of awareness of issues of importance is the indicator of a coward or just someone who may be uninformed or afraid.

I am just like you. I may be Black, I may be a male, I may not be as rich, as educated or even maintain the same measure of social status as you, but I am just like you. We have different experiences, we may believe differently on many things, we may even approach love differently, but I am just like you and you like me. Once you can understand and accept that fact, then we can make of this old world an even better world.

References & Inspirations
CBS News – 02/19/09 “Conservatives Hammer Holder for Cowards Comments
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. “Drum Major Instinct”
Thoughts, Ideas & Suggestions – 01/01/09 “Your Friendly Neighborhood Negro

11 thoughts on “I Ain’t Afraid of You…

  1. Hi Tim,

    Excellent post! I’ll tell you why: two good reasons. First, you fairly pointed out that it’s takes genuine effort from both parties to resolve a conflict, so I appreciate your sense of fairness and refrain from pointing fingers at either race. Once that sense of fairness has been established we all may focus on the core issue (racial healing) instead of the various messengers, who you have well pointed out may only wish to taint the already muddy waters (with apologies to the great musician), or deflect the insensitive comments with calculated tactics (the Magic Negro dynamic, etc). Please don’t sell yourself short here, Tim, as you at least bring an openmind and sense of fairness in your posts dealing with the sensitive subject matter of race in our society. We’ll get there sir as long as you and a great many others ignore the tactics of both sides and focus on the core issue. Thanks for sharing yet another interesting/thought-provoking post. Have a terrific weekend.

    1. I was almost about to say something when you said something about Muddy Waters. 🙂

      I’ve defending Bush many times (before I started this blog in late ’07) even as I disagreed with him. The attacks of racism was unjustified. The subject is just too simple at its core, but complex on the surface. The way to break from being a nation of cowards when it comes to race relations is to have the courage to speak openly and honestly about race.

      I want to talk about other things and other people of importance, but keep getting wrangled back to this subject. Al, you’re a good person and repeatedly proven your openness. I just wish there were more people like you. Perhaps Cloning. 🙂 I won’t get into that debate.

      Thanks again.

  2. Hi. I greet you at your site after your interesting comments at Michelle’s. Saw in your profile that you describe yourself as a 30-something black dude, in which context I can understand your remarks here:

    “America and in fact many other nations of the world fail to do is speak honestly, openly and sincerely about what divides us.”

    Yet, on the previous post you castigated various Republicans for being honest and forthright in their views about homosexuality. I don’t think you can have it both ways. You either want people to discuss their divisions or your don’t. Some discussion is fruitful, but much of it is not. Sometimes the discussion just degenerates into name-calling.

    As a 30-plus-a-decade-or-so white person living in a black community, I do not find that discussing race with my neighbors is helpful — or necessary. I took exception to Holder’s comment. I was wondering what planet he thinks he’s on. The divisions between people are hardly limited to race. An African American friend of mine who worked in the foreign service told me about her stint in Turkey and how people who “all looked alike to her” had local ethnic divisions regarding their country that meant A LOT to them and yet were pretty esoteric to an American visitor.

    It’s human nature. It has been ever thus. And the advice our mothers gave us (Holder’s too) is a whole lot more efficacious than all the “letting it hang out” discussion.

    Be kind to people. Listen to them. Respect them. Hold doors open and say “thank you” and smile. All the small courtesies of life matter. Hugely.

    I am a Reagan Republican, recall. I recently attended an all white party among some Dem friends and my Dem friends who all voted for Obama were doom and gloomers to a person! In contrast, back at my apartment building I ran into a fellow resident, a stranger, but I recognize “his” car. At the elevator I struck up a conversation about his car just to have something to talk about (it’s a great car).

    Well, it turns out it isn’t his car, but it began a brief and friendly exchange. And it included me in his group for a moment, and we were not talking about his son who is completely disabled. We were not avoiding the son — smiled at the son and at his other two children. But his son’s disability didn’t have to be our meeting place conversationally.

    Anyway, he says “it’s not my car. I always drive Volkswagons. Drove them back in Uganda. That’s what I always drive.” And he smiled warmly. The car I admired belongs to a niece.

    So, he’s here from Uganda. And he has a son that some Democrats might have thought would have been better off aborted. The child will never be normal — never walk, breathes on a respirator, is mentally retarded. But the man loves his son, and brought him to this country for a better life.

    At the party my well-educated Dem acquaintances are whining about the mortage crisis and the possibility of losing their jobs, etc., hardly trivial matters I admit. But their guy won. My guy lost. And I’m more chipper than they are — even if Obama’s spending and his gloomy talk does usher in another Great Depression. (Let’s hope not.)

    Meanwhile, I think about the guy from Uganda. All the obstacles stacked against him. But he loves his son. And their family hangs together and helps each other. They don’t have a house to lose — it’s a modest apartment building complex — but it’s a great place to live. I love it.

    Immigrants like this guy from Uganda give me great hope. Obama and the progressives, left-wingers, and so-called liberals do not.

    There are more subtleties to politics in America today than you allow. The leader of the GOP now is Michael Steele, former Lt. Gov. of Maryland and a Black Catholic. And I’m really proud. But nevertheless being a Republican, I’m supposed to be a “racist.” Google Steele’s name and you’ll see him called an “uncle Tom.”

    I tried having a conversation about race at the all-white event among Dems, and the woman I was talking too practically jumped out of her seat with discomfort! Not everyone wants the discussion. And when people don’t want to talk about race or anything else, it’s kindness to respect their wishes. So. So that’s where I’m at.

    It’s fun visiting your site and finding your very passionate ideas!

    Best wishes,

    Ann’s new friend

    1. OK… Well I respect your opinion and thank you for visiting and reading my blog. I believe that the more you read this blog the more you may see a little more of where I’m coming from in regards to politics. I have often complimented Chairman Steele and even defended him more than criticizing him. I may be a Democrat, but I don’t always blindly side with them on every single issue. I also do not blindly disagree with Republicans on every issue. I do disagree on tactics of the GOP and think some things are going to work against their better interest in terms of growing and diversifying the party. That’s the angle I’m coming from. I honestly want to see the GOP become a more diverse party and I believe them when they say they want to, but it’s certain things some members say and do that sets any progress made back to the beginning. I may never become a Republican, but I’m fair minded enough to want to point out what they could do to better diversify themselves or become more attractive so other fair minded people of color that may want to consider the party can seriously do so without reservations. It’s the far right of the party I have problems with. The moderates of the party I really don’t have many issues with. If you have the opportunity or time to go back through my blog and search what I’ve said about Republicans you’ll see whenever it came to moderates I’m much kinder if not down right nice to them. When it comes to the extreme of the party I have nothing good to say. It’s not necessarily the party itself, but some elements of it. But it’s the same in the Democratic party too.

      In regarding to race it may take me too long to go into detail. I will be the first person to defend someone when it comes to discrimination regardless of race, religion, preferences or affiliations. I think I can clue some people into some things that some people of my own race may not know about things that are said or thought of. The guy I referenced from Utah on his attitudes towards homosexuality you may notice I did not criticize his party affiliation or race, but his attitudes towards homosexuality. You may not agree or approve of it, but it doesn’t give anyone permission to discriminate against someone who may be.

      One more thing about Race & Republicans and I have debated writing about this in more detail. Yes there are some Republicans in office that hold some attitudes that can be aligned with those of people with racially discriminatory attitudes. I don’t think that makes all Republicans racist. Now I have point it out during the last campaign season and even recently. The problem is the silence on the issue. Just speak out against it. I can’t know that you (not you in particular) are for or against it if the party is silent. I think I will write about this one because too many people are confusing the two.

      I believe you said that you found me through Michelle. She’s a wonderful person and I recommend anyone reading this to visit her blog. Just look at the blogroll.

      Once again, I appreciate your comments and the time spent offering them. I invite you to visit me often and tell others. Hopefully you’ll see that I’m not that bad of a person. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the links. I’ve actually been to the nsbp.org before. If you get a chance I would like to know what you think about my post titled “Whites in Black History”.

  3. I realize now I confused your comments with afrankangle — realized my mistake when I saw that name on your blogroll.

    It’s difficult talking to blocks of “text” and keeping everything and everybody’s identity straight.

    Funny too.

    Anyway, t’was a fortuitous mistake.

    Cheers.

    1. It’s alright. I’m not mad at you. afrankangle is a very nice guy. I wouldn’t put a link to his blog on my blog if I didn’t like him. Matter-of-Fact everyone on there are very good people. I would put more, but those are the ones I visit practically everyday.

Comments are closed.