By All Means Necessary

In a telegram to Mrs. Betty Shabazz after the assassination of Malcolm X, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. had this to say about Malcolm X.

…I always had a deep affection for Malcolm and felt that he had a great ability to put his finger on the existence and the root of the problem. He was an eloquent spokesman for his point of view and no one can honestly doubt that Malcolm had a great concern for the problems we face as a race.

Today, February 21st forty-four (44) years ago an assassins murdered Malcolm X. Maybe they like some today feel that they should by any means necessary do whatever you have to do to prevent the rise of anyone who could unify and electrify the majority of the nation into a progressive movement of change.

Perhaps it’s too late, although many will continue to try.

Here’s a clip from the “Segregation or Integration Debate” between Bayard Rustin & Malcolm X. It’s a Fascinating Debate when or if you study it. It’s been a long time since I’ve listened to this debate.

Regardless of what many may choose to believe about Malcolm X or what you’ve been told without taking the time to research I invite you to read and listen to what he has to say in depth. Try to understand the meaning of his message and not just the words on the surface. Perhaps you may take away something that may benefit or expand your understanding of the man.

I love this quote from Malcolm X regarding Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. after the March on Selma he said in a conversation with Mrs. Coretta Scott King. Primarily because I understood the humor and seriousness in his statement.

I want Dr. King to know that I didn’t come to Selma to make his job difficult. I really did come thinking I could make it easier. If the white people realize what the alternative is, perhaps they will be more willing to hear Dr. King.

Malcolm X is undutiful overlooked, misunderstood and mischaracterized. When you look towards the bent of his life you’ll see and appreciate his journey.

References & Inspirations
Islamic Videos “The Life of Malcolm X
CBS: City Desk “Interview with Malcolm X
Columbia University “The Malcolm X Project
Malcolm X Museum “Virtual Tour

4 thoughts on “By All Means Necessary

  1. Tim,

    I will admit, I don’t know much about Malcolm X, and what I do know may be biased, incorrect, a misconception, or a combination of all. But I know at least you appreciate my honest self-assessment.

    I listened to the short debate … and am currently listening to the city desk interview … I’m learning! Thanks.

    1. Malcolm has said some things early on in his public career that I do not agree with, but I understand some of them. There are some things I can find agreement in the principle of the idea. Malcolm X is a good person that was misunderstood and controversial. I tend to side with the assessment Dr. Martin King made regarding Malcolm X when he said he may not agree with his religion, political tactics, but he respects it.

      I haven’t studied Malcolm X with the same depth that I have King, but I can find agreement with the principles of somethings. It’s the scope of his life that’s fascinating and shows the transformation. I wanted to offer a different look at him that many may not know. What you probably know is most likely true, but there’s much more to him than what is usually taught.

  2. The thing about guys like X speaking in public back then, he probably endured every racial slur a hundred times over just getting into the building where the debate was held.
    Probably why he and others sounded so stressed, like they were trying to hold back anger, while focusing on debate. Not an easy task.

    Been there myself. I lived in the middle east for five years.

    But all of these speeches, debates, activism etc…were all small parts of broader scheme of things and therefor necessary to achieve what we have now and will have in the future. Better understanding. The debate Holder was ranting about is in progress. Slow, but in progress.
    Lyndon Johnson basically said it when he signed the Civil Rights Act. There’s going to be problems and we have to get it over with.

    I remember when they started busing when I was in third grade. It was tough. Lots of fights, lots of problems all through Jr. High and beyond. But it had to happen. A thing has to happen before people can get passed it sometimes.
    Ya know?

    It all makes the next generation that much more tolerant of different people. Through that learned tolerance of difference comes the realization that we are all the same other than a few minor details.
    And if we can’t overlook minor differences, we have failed as a culture.

    I understand Malcom’s saying to Mrs. King.
    Republicans always appreciate average Democrats more after they meet captainkona too.

    ;-]_~

  3. Thanks for sharing this post, Tim. Have to agree that it seemed towards the end of Malcolm X’s life that he was willing to embrace the concept that all of us belonged to the most important race, the human race. That growth may have cost him his life during a turbulent time in our nation’s history.

Comments are closed.