Madagascar’s President Had To Move It, Move It

Now you must forgive me for this one, because when I first read this article a smile immediately came to my face. I smiled because I was thinking that The Penguins finally obtained power and over thrown King Julian. Now, the problem with this is that I’m a victim of creative advertising directed at the parents of young children.

It’s actually a very serious situation. After weeks of political tension, Madagascar’s president Marc Ravalomanana resigns dissolves the government, and hands power to the military. The 59-year-old leader’s resignation comes after more than two months of protests led by Andry Rajoelina, the main opposition leader.

Interim President Andry Rajoelina, 34, accused Former President Ravalomanana of ruling the country, the world’s biggest vanilla producer, as a corrupt dictator. At least 100 people died since Jan. 26 amid clashes between the security forces and opposition supporters.

Mr. Rajoelina, 34, is the sacked mayor of the capital, Antananarivo. He is regarded by some as a maverick and is nicknamed TGV, after the French high speed train, for his rapid-fire personality.

Now I’m not sure if anyone reading this blog understands what I believe is French, but I include the video below which is in English that I believe offers a clear overview and definition of what happen in Madagascar.

References & Inspirations
NPR: News & Notes – 03/17/09 “Madagascar’s President Quits
Bloomberg – 03/17/09 “Madagascar’s President Quits, Hands Power to Military

One thought on “Madagascar’s President Had To Move It, Move It

  1. Ravalomanana

    LOL. Sounds like a new Latin dance step.

    One thing’s for certain. If the military’s on your side, it’s a hell of a lot easier to pull a coup. Otherwise you need complex voter fraud as we saw here in 2000 and 2004.

    I hope the people there get what they want. Other than that, Vanilla isn’t exactly one of my favorite flaves. I’m much more a Cherry Garcia kinda guy.
    😛

Comments are closed.