The Governor 6 (The Palin Edition)

I’m sure certain individuals who either remain disgruntled over the election, seeking anything to hang over the President’s head or who is still politically emotionally tied to Sarah Palin like some are to Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama or Mitt Romney I’m sure you will be upset again with me on this one. It’s alright; I’m use to it and find it interesting.

If you identify with any of the above characterization I ask you to attempt to be open minded before you begin to verbally throw your stones at me, because I’m just quoting what was written. I have my own opinions about Sarah Palin, but I’ll save those thoughts for another day.

Last week Gov. Sarah Palin said that she would only accept 69% of the $930 Million dollars that could flow to the state, $514 Million for capital projects, $128 Million in Medicaid Reimbursement. (Source: Anchorage Daily News)

It appears too many people both locally and nationally that Gov. Palin’s rejection of the stimulus money, or how I like to say, her 69% rejection of the stimulus money is an obvious play to the ‘conservatives’ in the Republican party to win some support for her ‘2012 Presidential Campaign.’

According to the list of programs Gov. Sarah Palin (R-AK) would be opposing as reported by the Anchorage Daily News. Gov. Palin’s decision to pick & choose what money from the stimulus package for her state that she publicly opposed are as follows:

  • Weatherization
  • Energy Efficiency Grants
  • Air Quality Grants
  • Emergency Food Assistance
  • Nutrition Programs
  • School Lunch Programs
  • Child Care Development Grants
  • Immunizations
  • Homeless Grants
  • Senior Meals
  • Expanded Unemployment Benefits

There are many things about Sarah Palin that leaves me puzzled, but I’m trying to understand why she would not want the $160 million for education? If you’re going to raise the hopes of hiring more teachers, only to lay them off later then what’s the use of raising the point?

She also said some of the federal money has strings attached, such as the state having to adopt and enforce uniform building codes if it accepts energy efficiency money. Now I would have been led to believe that you would be cool with this one since you’re the ‘Energy’ governor. If weatherizing government buildings will help lower their energy consumption and the costs associated with it, what’s wrong with that?

I still have not got an answer posed a few weeks ago regarding how these governors would answer to the people who are hurting economically in their states, if they do not accept the money. The public opposition the stimulus funds for their state, primarily from the six Republican governors who will be working to ‘Out Republican Each Other’ for the nomination in 2012 is that they all can and will most likely be overwritten by their state’s legislative body. An amendment written by the Majority Whip Rep James Clyburn (D-SC).

Many are taking the opportunity to gain political points by twisting the Majority Whip’s comments against him in a silly attempt to skew the point, a point I don’t have time to go into today, but will soon. It’s just interested that those who are talking against Rep. Clyburn’s comments fail to mention the similar ‘Race Card’ comparison used by Gov. Sanford (R-SC). But I will go there later.

The point of Gov. Palin’s position is political. Although I shouldn’t be surprise, but I’m surprised that she would have a problem with $170 Million for education in her state. Especially when there are provisions ‘the strings attached’ that is directed towards the education for the poor and the special needs students.

Now I recall hearing and seeing a certain vice-presidential candidate promoting or parading support for parents with special needs children. So what other reason than appeasing the far right does she have for taking such a stance that is the opposite of being ‘a friend and advocate’?

To the families of special-needs children all across this country, I have a message: For years, you sought to make America a more welcoming place for your sons and daughters. I pledge to you that if we are elected, you will have a friend and advocate in the White House.” Gov. Sarah Palin

I wonder what damage you would have done if you did make it to the White House. I would probably find myself welcoming Dick Cheney to come back then.

Listen, you and others can oppose the stimulus funds for your states for any reason you like. I just say be upfront about it. Don’t condemn it in public and consider some of it in private. It’s not just Sarah Palin, but the other Republican Governors who are opposing it too. How will you honestly campaign that you were against it the stimulus funds, when you accepted the stimulus funds? Someone like me would be all over that, like anyone voting for you would be open to pay attention to what I have to say.

I just want you and others to do what’s right. Not all Republican governors are doing what these six are doing. What do they get that their Conservative Gubernatorial Colleagues do not? Perhaps I should let them do what they do, because it only strengthens my future arguments against them. I would have a difficult time campaigning against Charlie Crist in comparison to Mark Sanford. So never mind all of these, keep doing what you’re doing.

References & Inspirations
Anchorage Daily News – 03/22/09 “Lawmakers Urged To Go For All Stimulus Funding
State of Alaska – FY2008 Governor’s Operating Budget for Education (PDF)
CBS News – 09/04/08 “Fact Checking Palin
4 thoughts on “The Governor 6 (The Palin Edition)

  1. This really is an outrage, I ma happy that if we had to have a Republican Governor I have Charlie Crist, Of course The Wacko Right wingers think Crist is a Commie.

  2. Maybe she won’t take the money because she’s concerned that Obama will make the schools teach about condoms in sex ed class instead of abstinence only. 😉

    I understand that some Republican governors don’t want the stimulus money because it will be a one-time infusion, delaying really painful cuts a year or two down the road. But really, the services outlined above are absolute necessities in a recession, and as the economy recovers the amount of money needed to be spent on unimployment insurance and homeless shelter funding will decrease, meaning the cuts will be self-induced.

    Personally, I would have liked the stimulus package to be almost entirely a public-works program — with millions of people building renewable energy, weatherizing homes, modernizing the electrical grid, and constructing high-speed electrified railroads across the country. But then the oil-state Republicans probably would have fillibustered the bill. I guess the message is that there is nothing in the stimulus package that pleases everybody, but it is a pill that will eventually make us feel better; so these governors need to pinch their noses and take their medicine.

  3. If she truly felt strongly about the issue, she wouldn’t have taken a dime … after all, she campaigned about how much money she returned to Alaskans.

Comments are closed.