Mentors

How do you get to where you want to go, expand yourself as a person and grow professionally? Often it is through a mentor.

A mentor doesn’t necessarily have to be someone older than you, just more knowledgeable than you in the area that you desire to grow. A mentor doesn’t necessarily have to be someone you personally know to be an effective mentor. I distinguish the two as direct and indirect mentors.

You should use caution when seeking a mentor. You often imitate those who you call your mentor, their heroes become your heroes, their ideological persuasion or tendencies become of interest to you.

I’ve found this to be true. The people that I consider as my indirect mentors have influenced me by their works to serious consider pursuing a higher degree of education. Not just a certification, bachelor’s degree, or master’s degree, but a PhD. Their examples have leaded me to want the same credentials they have obtained. Not for sakes of being mimicking their academic achievements, but as a personal motivation to seek the levels of distinction that they have obtained.

The individuals who I consider as direct mentors vary, but I consider myself very fortunate to have the level of access to one of them, my father. Although I’m a little harsher, less tactful and not as sophisticated as he, I continue to try to fit his shoes. I think I’m getting there, but still have a long ways to haul.

So regardless of who you consider or desire to be your mentor, choose them with caution. Because before you know it you may actually be on their level. The uncertain thing is what level of being that is?

Your mentors may not be ministers, professors, historians, politicians, activist and businessmen. They do not have to be one or two people, but many depending on your goals and expectations. Whatever your interest may be, choose wisely, be disciplined, ask questions, develop your ability and share it with others.

a2a_linkname=”Thoughts, Ideas & Suggestions”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com”;

3 thoughts on “Mentors

  1. Excellent post, Tim! Here’s wishing you and yours a safe and memorable holiday weekend sir.

  2. Good thoughts Tim. When it comes to professional mentors, I tend to think more about the indirect/informal mentors … the ones not assigned … b/c they are the ones I’ve identified as knowledgeable and respected. Enjoy the weekend.

  3. Great Post

    Mine were both of my parents, A Boss who gave me a chance and stuck with me when others wanted me gone and a Friend from Junior High School who accepted me for who I was.

Comments are closed.