Not So Straight Talk Expressed

a2a_linkname=”TI&S | Not So Straight Talk Expressed”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/notsostraighttalkexpressed/”;

I almost could not believe this one, because I’m generally weary of people who were closely connected to Karl Rove & George W. Bush. But I guess anyone can have a change of heart if former deputy to Karl Rove and John McCain’s 2008 Presidential Campaign Strategist can made a shocking proposal regarding gay marriage. Shocking because it’s a new position from him and those like him to take an inclusive and open-minded position on gay marriage when he has worked tirelessly against the very subject.

Mr. Steve Schmidt said…

It can not be argued that marriage between people of the same sex is un-American or threatens the rights of others. Denying two consenting adults of the same sex the right to form a lawful union that is protected and respected by the state denies them two of the most basic natural rights affirmed in the preamble of our Declaration of Independence – Liberty and the pursuit of happiness.” (Source: CNN)

I’m sure some may unintentionally argue this basic question, “What about my right to discriminate against gays?”

Well it would be un-American for anyone to prohibit your right to protest your freedoms. What would that profit anyone if I or anyone else mounted a campaign against your rights? I’m not forcing you to accept what I believe, but only exercising my right to reason. I do not want to prevent you from discriminating, because I too discriminate against ignorance, bigotry, prejudice and narrow-mindedness. So in efforts for equality I want it recorded that I am not seeking to prevent you from discriminating, just asking you who, what and why you are discriminating.

Anyone can have a change of heart and position. I too have seen the error of my ways and made conscience efforts towards truth and reconciliation. Perhaps Mr. Schmidt is seeking the same.

As one commenter suggested on an unlikely website for this sort of discussion, Mac Life.

Some Republicans believe the period of self-examination within the party necessitated by the loss of our majority status is mostly a question of whether the party should become more moderate or conservative; I think that’s a false choice. We need to grow our coalition, but as I said, that’s hard to do if we lose some votes while gaining others.”

I find it interesting how he knows what Steve Schmidt planned to say, amazing.  🙂

Even on ultra conservative websites such as Power Line are suspicious of this one. Finally, the left and right agree on something, although both may deny it.

References & Inspirations
NBC News: Washington – 04/17/09 “Expressly Not Straight Talk
