The Last Good Republican

a2a_linkname=”The Last Good Republican”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/thelastgoodrepublican/”;
In memory of  Sec. Jack F. Kemp, July 13, 1935 to May 2, 2009

It may not be proper protocol for politicos of an opposing party to speak kindly of a member of the opposition, but I feel that I should in regards to Jack Kemp.

I can say with confidence according to my experiences that I have a litany of issues with the conduct of the Republican Party in its approach to communities and individuals who are not White, Southern, Male and any combination of the three. This sort of indictment wouldn’t apply to Jack Kemp. He was in my opinion, the last good Republican.

Today the Republican Party is in mourning, and they should be if only it was for the right reasons. It has lost its soul in more ways than one. When you really look at the career of Jack Kemp you have to conclude that he really was the quintessential essence of what it is to be a Republican. Not the Republicans that we see today, but a true Republican.

I’ve never been a Republican and have no intentions of becoming one. Jack Kemp understood why that is. Its the same statement many minorities can confidently express that sentiment so easily. It’s something that I can’t even beat it the heads of some today, because their minds are too closed to receive it. Believe me, I’ve tried and have almost resigned to continue on, thus the previous post titled, “Let the MF Burn” and many more examples from moderate Republicans themselves. I can just stand outside of the burning house screaming inside to the Moderate Republicans to, “Save yourselves” now.

Jack Kemp was reasonable and was a living political oxymoron by today’s Republican standards, because he was an inclusive and compassionate conservative. You’re very hard press to name one that fits that description today. Possible Charlie Crist, but he’s still no Jack Kemp.

In my opinion, Jack Kemp was a throw-back Republican from the days before Kennedy when the constituency you have within the Democratic Party of today identified with the Republican Party of then. The time before Jack Kennedy called favors to get Martin King release from Reidsville. Before Nixon’s use of the now backfiring Southern Strategy that was fueled by the Dixiecrats and Johnson’s Civil Rights Act. That what I mean by a throw-back Republican.

With much respect to Jack Kemp, I can only imagine the constituency of notable American politicos he now is among from all across the political ideological spectrum. The politics of today has changed. Diplomacy, reconciliation and honesty may be on a respirator now, but we’re pinning our hopes on a new President to help restore it back to life once again.

I only can hope that the Republican Party of today dutifully considers the words of one of its own when Jack Kemp offered these words regarding the future of the Republican Party.

“Our nation doesn’t require uniformity or unanimity; it does require putting the good of our people ahead of what’s good for mere political or personal advantage. The Party of Lincoln needs to rethink and revisit its historic roots as the party of emancipation, liberation, civil rights and equality of opportunity for all.” – Rep. Jack Kemp, 11/12/08 A Letter to my Grandchildren

I hope they do Jack, but have my doubts that they’re even listening.

You must read the entire letter referenced below to get a glimpse of why this Democrat thanks a Republican for being fair and considerate. I still distrust many Republicans, but will continue to extend my hand each time it’s slapped away, because eventually someone will understand the message I’m trying to offer. It’s essentially the same message Jack Kemp offered, respect, consideration and friendship.

My sincerest condolences to the family of Jack Kemp, truly the Last Good Republican.

References & Inspirations
MSNBC: Hardball with Chris Matthews – 05/04/09 “Tribute to Jack Kemp
Kemp Partners – 11/12/08 “A Letter to My Grandchildren
Wikipedia – “Jack Kemp
4 thoughts on “The Last Good Republican

  1. Jack Kemp was able to draw black support to Republican initiatives based solely on his personal relationships with them. Many blacks worked with him because they trusted him and later came to the conclusion that the ideas that Jack Kemp espoused were good ones.

    There are many people on the right like Jack Kemp but most blacks would never know it because they can’t get past their preconceived notion that conservative ideas are the ideas of evil white men.

    Let’s look at what the Democrats are doing for you…

    The Democrat party has fought for the availability of abortion during the entire nine months of pregnancy. Blacks in America make up about 12% of the population but 36% of abortions are performed on black women. The Dred Scott decision declared that blacks were not human and therefore had no constitutional rights. The RoeVWade decision declared that babies still in the womb were not human and therefore had no constitutional rights. Where is your empathy for your unborn brothers and sisters? The party of emancipation calls for your support on this civil rights issue.

    1. The party of emancipation argument has been thrown around so much, but no one addresses the party of emancipation’s adoption of the Southern Strategy. Yes, I’m sure some will say, “that’s a myth”. That may be for you, because you haven’t experienced it, but I have personally seen what the party of emancipation has continued to do. I would love for them to get back to what they were 100+ years ago, but I guess the Civil Rights & Voting Rights Act had something to do with that, since civil rights were mentioned.

      If we just look back to the Civil Rights Movement we’ll see why so many Blacks moved away from the Republican Party. Why was that? Civil Rights. I’ve talked about this on the blog plenty of times, so I will allow those multiple statements to explain that more in interest of time and space.

      The whole abortion thing has gotten ridiculous. So I will say it again to anyone reading this who refuses to read what I’ve already said about it. I wish for no abortions. I just find it interesting that some will argue for states rights, but don’t want women to choose what they wish. If you don’t want an abortion don’t have one. How easy is that? I don’t want anyone to have an abortion, but who am I to tell you that you can’t have one if you want one. I don’t want people to hate each other because of race, but they do and try to hide it or pretend that they don’t. And this is not directed to any one group. Although I’ve said this many times, I’ll say it again. No one has a lock on discrimination, anyone can discriminate and many do.

      This is why I’ve basically given up on people. No one wants to work towards reconciliation, just retaliation. If I say something about race, I’m criticize for bring up race or what someone isn’t comfortable speaking about. If I bring up religion, I’m accuse of being too liberal or too tolerant of other religious views. On this post “The Last Good Republican” I was trying to speak highly of a Republican, something that’s difficult to do these days. I’ve turned the tables on Democrats too, but people just see what they want to see. I give up trying.

      When I say I appreciate a persons opinion I mean it, even when I may strongly disagree with it. Many people seem to miss that. [David, I’m not necessarily directing this towards you]. I’ve just gotten tired of the excuses, reasoning and arguments against reconciliation from everyone and see little reason to continue trying to get anyone to consider putting themselves in the other person’s shoes. What’s the use.

      I believe I’ll write something on this in detail soon. Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

    2. The party of emancipation argument has been thrown around so much, but no one addresses the party of emancipation’s adoption of the Southern Strategy. Yes, I’m sure some will say, “that’s a myth”. That may be for you, because you haven’t experienced it, but I have personally seen what the party of emancipation has continued to do. I would love for them to get back to what they were 100+ years ago, but I guess the Civil Rights & Voting Rights Act had something to do with that, since civil rights were mentioned.

      If we just look back to the Civil Rights Movement we’ll see why so many Blacks moved away from the Republican Party. Why was that? Civil Rights. I’ve talked about this on the blog plenty of times, so I will allow those multiple statements to explain that more in interest of time and space.

      The whole abortion thing has gotten ridiculous. So I will say it again to anyone reading this who refuses to read what I’ve already said about it. I wish for no abortions. I just find it interesting that some will argue for states rights, but don’t want women to choose what they wish. If you don’t want an abortion don’t have one. How easy is that? I don’t want anyone to have an abortion, but who am I to tell you that you can’t have one if you want one. I don’t want people to hate each other because of race, but they do and try to hide it or pretend that they don’t. And this is not directed to any one group. Although I’ve said this many times, I’ll say it again. No one has a lock on discrimination, anyone can discriminate and many do.

      This is why I’ve basically given up on people. No one wants to work towards reconciliation, just retaliation. If I say something about race, I’m criticize for bring up race or what someone isn’t comfortable speaking about. If I bring up religion, I’m accuse of being too liberal or too tolerant of other religious views. On this post “The Last Good Republican” I was trying to speak highly of a Republican, something that’s difficult to do these days. I’ve turned the tables on Democrats too, but people just see what they want to see. I give up trying.

      When I say I appreciate a persons opinion I mean it, even when I may strongly disagree with it. Many people seem to miss that. [David, I’m not necessarily directing this towards you]. I’ve just gotten tired of the excuses, reasoning and arguments against reconciliation from everyone and see little reason to continue trying to get anyone to consider putting themselves in the other person’s shoes. What’s the use.

      I believe I’ll write something on this in detail soon. Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

  2. It is sure that nearly 30 years ago a few cynical Republicans calculated that they could get a lot of votes by appealing to white Southerners. It is also true that at about the same time an economic renewal was beginning in the South and people moving into the middle class looked to the Republican party for representation. Did the “southern strategy” work? Maybe.

    Being a conservative in the South today and knowing many others I can tell with certainty that we (my circle) hold our beliefs for economic and social reasons that have nothing to do with race. Racists are spoken of disparagingly if at all. From where I stand you seem to be holding a grudge against a group of people who no longer exist.

    In the circles of people that I mingle in there seems to be no racism. We don’t speak of it and don’t teach it to our kids. We have friends, neighbors, coworkers, and relatives of other races. We sit in the pews next to each other. We eat in each others’ homes. Among the people that I know, reconciliation seems to have happened.

    The “southern strategy” MAY have worked for the Republicans for a brief time. But it worked for the Democrats for 100 years. Why not hold the grudge against them?

    Please explain to me what you think it is that Republicans have done that is so terrible.

Comments are closed.