Limiting Possibilities

a2a_linkname=”Limiting Possibilites”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/05/13/limitedpossibilities/”;
How many times have you said to yourself, loved ones or friends, “If I ever win the lottery I would…” probably most of you? I know I have.

If I could do anything in the world, what would it be?

Well if I could do anything in the world I would love to win every major tournament in the PGA for the year. I would love to score every touchdown in the Super Bowl. Hit a home-run that makes the ball sound like it’s screaming as it enters orbit in Game 7 of the World Series with the bases loaded and the game tied. With only 10 seconds on the clock of Game 7 of the NBA Finals make a dunk so pretty that it makes your momma say, “that’s my baby” and your coach walk out on the court to shake my hand afterwards, but that probably will not happen.

Although that would be cool, that’s why we have dreams and special effects.

Seriously, many of us seek the answers to our private questions of our life. What can I achieve? What I will accomplish? Essentially, what is my destiny? I like many others battle moments of doubt, hopelessness, pessimism and self-pity. Not to be too political or even religious, although they both play a role in my life, I work to always encourage myself, show myself approved of whatever is presented and affirm the phrase, Yes I Can.

Too often we bind ourselves to things that shouldn’t bind us. It’s alright to have a connection or relationship, but to be bound by something limits you from experiencing what you may have been born to do. We bind ourselves in so many ways. We bind ourselves in terms of culture, religion, ideology, intellect, emotionally and socially.

How many times have you heard or said, “I can’t stand Rap or I can’t listen to Country Music, etc…” or “I wish you people just go back to…” or “I just don’t understand Islam. Atheists are evil or Christians or crazy” or “I never had a Black person over my house” or “If she can’t use your comb, don’t bring her home”. How ridiculous is this? Why do you put yourself in a box? Why do you accept discrimination? Why limit yourself and your possibilities?

That person, thing or idea that you’re opposed to just may very well be the answer to your question, that one opportunity or help that clears that hurdle in your way?

When you practice tolerance, diversity and socialization love wins. You begin to understand the words best articulated by Martin Luther King, Jr. “We are all caught in an inescapable network of mutuality. I can not be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be.

Open your mind to the possibilities around you, become more accepting of others that you don’t realize that are accepting of you.

I can’t tell you what you were born to do. I can’t make you be considerate, tolerant or even to love. But I ask you to open your mind in hopes that you may recognize opportunity when it knocks.

This is just an example.

When a local missionary knocks on your door, don’t ignore them and/or pretend that you’re not at home. Open the door; see what they have to offer. You don’t have to become a Jehovah Witness, Baptist, Church of Christ, Pentecostal or a L.D.S. Realize that they’re just like you; they have homes, families and lives just like you. Stop closing the door of opportunity based off of what you see on the surface or have been lead to believe by some uninformed or bias individuals.

You have purpose. Stop living as if you don’t matter. This doesn’t mean the world revolves around you or it has to be your way or no way at all, it’s just the opposite. Life consists of more than you. You are apart of what makes life worth while, avoid placing yourself in situations where you are the one slamming the door in the face of opportunity, because that may be the time that you close the door on what you were born to do. Don’t sabotage your dreams. Open your mind and consider others.

2 thoughts on “Limiting Possibilities

  1. I appreciate your thoughts here … especially around the point of what can we do if we tried. Sure we have those fantasy thoughts (especially around sports), but that’s not the point.

    One of our pastors gave a sermon (not long ago) about what would you do if you were guaranteed not to fail? Again, his point (as yours) wasn’t to select a fantasy, but to challenge an action.

    He included a story of a person who took the challenge and decided to give a sermon. Well, that person did it, was successful, and today is a pastor.

    Tim … for your readers, here’s my related post.
    http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/on-a-challenging-thought/

    By the way, what would I do? Hmmm … I still don’t know.

    1. Well as a new golfer, I’ve basically transferred my competitiveness to that sport. It seems to fit my personality better than some other sports, because if I mess up it’s on me.

      To be serious for a moment. The one profession I do have first hand knowledge of are the challenges of ministry and pastors. Not being a minister, but a son of one who has great responsibilities for more than a single location, but an organization I’ve found it to be simply frustrating dealing with people. Because the burden of ministry and this can be transferred to other things that it is a continual campaign to convince people that they have power to change and to go beyond what limits them.

      I encourage everyone to read “On A Challenging Thought” on http://afrankangle.wordpress.com Better yet, just subscribe to the blog.

Comments are closed.