We Think Just Like Everybody Else

a2a_linkname=”We Think Just Like Everybody Else”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/06/05/everybodyelse/”;
Manny Miranda, the chairman of the Third Branch Conference and the author of a letter that has asked Senate Republicans to consider a “Democratic filibuster” against Supreme Court nominee Sonia Sotomayor, just spoke at the Heritage Foundation luncheon for conservative bloggers.

Hispanic polls, Hispanic surveys, indicate that Hispanics think just like everyone else. We’re not like African-Americans. We think just like everybody else. When I was on the leader’s staff, someone called me once and asked me: ‘What’s Senator Frist’s Hispanic agenda?’ I said, ‘low taxes, better education, more jobs … what are you talking about?’ And that’s how Hispanics are. This is an opportunity to educate them on all of our issues and they will resonate in the way that they resonate with everyone else.– Manny Miranda

OH REALLY. And you wonder why… You know what’s the use. Simply Amazing.

Now I would personally like to hear Republicans, especially Black Republicans thoughts about this one.

You tell my Latino and Hispanic friends, “We like you. You’re not like those African-Americans over there” Oh we’re not meaning you Michael Steele, Juan Williams, Secretary Rice, Gen. Powell and the list of other accomplished or notable Black Republicans.

Where are the people who are so quick to tell me that the Republican Party is the party of Emancipation, the party of Lincoln? Where’s the emancipation of rhetoric?

Now before you get on your spill how the Democrats have done this or that, I want to give you the opportunity to explain this statement by your fellow Republican.

For months I’ve consistently warned people against this type of thinking over and over and over again, but I’m the crazy one and don’t know what I’m talking about? I have something against the GOP, but I would love to hear how you answer for this type of language. What I have against the GOP is the same that I have against the DNC and any other organization or individual who adopts this sort of ideology.

Listen to what he’s saying. “Hispanics think like everyone else. We’re not like African-Americans.” So how would you know how Black people think if your only experience with Blacks is the few that work near you or you see when you’re out? That’s right; one of your best friends is Black. I forgot that’s excuses it.

Next point, “We’re not like African-Americans.” What the Hell is that suppose to mean? Better question, what does that statement say about the person who said it? Once again, this is just another example of someone with limited social experience with Blacks. Seriously, if you stop looking down at people and start looking at people as equal, just maybe you’ll recognize that not all Black people think alike. I would love to have a conversation with him. But why not have a conversation with the few Black Republicans left. This really makes them feel welcomed and proud to be a Republican.

As a Democrat who is Black I am confident and secure enough with who I am and what I believe to clearly understand and recognize that there are some very intelligent people who can school you on the eclectic culture that is labeled Black or African-American and be Republican at the same time. I personally admire Joseph Watkins, J.C. Watts and Colin Powell to name a few notables. Get out of your segregated way of thinking. Then you wouldn’t make DUMB ASS COMMENTS like this.

What the Hell am I suppose to think?

This is the problem I keep hammering away at, despite the negative criticism, confusion and reluctance of honesty some have towards open discussion on the issue of race relations. You have further alienation of a party who already has a serious problem recruiting anyone who isn’t a White Male. Keep talking like this and see what happens to the credibility of your arguments to recruit any minority.

White Men or people are not the problem; it’s the thinking as if White men or people in general are the standard upon which we all should be measured upon. It’s the false sense of security of believing one is superior or inferior. The world is made up of more people than one race. You, me, we are just another part of the collective value of man. The days of acting, assuming and accepting White Men as the standard of measurement for the world is over.

While I’m at it I should just go there and say it.

Black people quit accepting and/or subscribing to any suggestion that you’re less than anyone else. You are just as valuable as anyone else. Start acting like it. When we see racism or discrimination we tend to address it. We must all be diligent in continuing this when we see it in our own community, family, and friends or even within ourselves. This means stop discriminating and blaming White people or anyone else for our own mistakes, failures or problems. Not all of the obstructions that prevent us from success as rapidly as someone else is caused by someone else. We can do, because it’s been done. I know it isn’t always fair or equal, but look at how far we’ve come. There’s not excuse to turn around now. We just can’t give up.

To my Hispanic and Latino family, you are a vital part of this community as anyone else. The obstacles you’re facing today are the same Blacks faced and in some cases still do. We walk this journey together. When some seek to divide us by their rhetoric and political posturing the reality is that we are essentially in the same boat. We’ve been friends & neighbors for decades upon decades and the community continues to made tremendous contributions to our society. It’s going to take you, me and many others to break the psychological chains ignorance, hate and discrimination that continue to bind so many people in terms of race today. But it can be done.

To my Gay and Lesbian friends, keep on. I understand your frustration. The fight for equality didn’t end on a Memphis motel balcony in 1968, but only intensified. Continue to fight for what’s right, fair, equal and just. Through propositions, resolutions and conversation with those who choose to embrace discrimination and/or refuse to reconcile the religion of love against the religions of man, I just urge you to keep on.

Equality is not going to be reached if we continue to segregate ourselves. Segregation even in terms of sexual preference. How can we live in a land half slave and half free. Slave as in terms of a mentality that binds us to an ideology, culture or religion of discrimination.
I can go back to the Lincoln-Douglass Debates for context to this problem we continue to have and take it all the way to another speech made by a politician in Philadelphia during March 2008. How else can you say it? How long will we hear people like Mr. Miranda make such statements?

The same Republican Party that Mr. Lincoln was apart of is not the same party it has morphed into today. The Democratic Party of Lincoln’s day was loosely what we see elements of today in the GOP. The GOP is not inherently evil or exclusionist, but they have lost their way in terms of being racially inclusive or tolerant. What happen?

The Democrats are a little better, but as we can reference a year ago, far from perfect. We too need to work with much more diligence to involve more people of color into the inner workings and decision making. We may have successfully won the argument today, but there’s always tomorrow.

What many do not understand about Blacks, Hispanics, Lesbians, Asians, Whites and Muslims are their similarities.

We may have different life experiences, but I can guarantee that we have something in common. Open yourself to diversity. Open your mind to the inclusive ways of thinking. Consider others not like yourself and their life experiences, before judging them by your standards. Most importantly, we must stop defeating ourselves. I’m just asking you to take the opportunity to know someone better and honestly. You are not superior and nor am I or the next person reading this inferior. You may be surprised with the prejudice you didn’t realize you held and recognize the value of diverse experiences.

Now I’ve grown accustom to always having someone misunderstanding this simple message. So I break it down to an easy sentence for those few. “Understand, respect, consider and appreciation people.”

“We’re not like African-Americans. We think just like everybody else” Amazing. Let’s try considering everybody.

References & Inspirations
The Washington Independent – 06/02/2009 “In Court Fight, Hispanics, Unlike Blacks, Think Like Everybody Else
The Lincoln-Douglas Debates – 1858 “The Lincoln-Douglas Debates
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. – 02/04/1968 “The Drum Major Instinct
John Howard Griffin – 1959 “Black Like Me
ABC News – 2001 “A Latina Judge’s Voice
4 thoughts on “We Think Just Like Everybody Else

  1. Greetings Mr. Tim!

    Yet another excellent example of how you always manage to address the issue instead of making needless personal attacks upon an individual and/or group. Yes, the issue isn’t whether an individual is a race, a particular party member, etc…it’s the behavior, actions, language and attitudes they harbor. High fives!

    Have a safe and wonderful weekend sir.

    1. HEY AL.

      First Thank You. I honestly appreciate you and the insight you’ve offered me on various positions. You and a few others have helped me fine tune and better defined my position. I honestly don’t have a problem with the GOP itself. I simply hate seeing what some are doing to it in the name of it. It’s just not right and it pains me to see it happen.

      What’s going on in much of our society is fixable. It’s difficult to get a firm hold upon it, but the solution is simple. I’ve just reached a point where I feel that someone has to say it to everyone. I believe I’m understanding something more each day when it comes to race relations. The lack of trust we have of each other and defeated attitudes we have towards ourselves. I’m guilty of it as everyone else. I’ve decided to stop direct attacks towards individuals.

      Now I still strongly disagree with Dick Cheney, Karl Rove and Rush Limbaugh, because I think there’s no reasoning with them. Just as a number of extremely liberal figures who are open for whatever. I would have difficulties reasoning with them too. Sometimes it would just be easier hitting them upside their head a few good times. You know how your mother would just slap you on the back of your head when you said something inappropriate while they had company, then sent you to your room.

      Big Sigh… If I Ruled The World. Oh Well…

  2. Al’s comment says a lot … so thanks. I love this line: What many do not understand about Blacks, Hispanics, Lesbians, Asians, Whites and Muslims are their similarities. Wow!

    1. I just think that we all have something of value to contribute. We just have to get past our mistrust of each other and give each other a chance. Al’s a good guy, but I may be bias. 🙂

Comments are closed.