The Tragedy of Hate

a2a_linkname=”The Tragedy of Hate”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/tragedyofhate/”;
I would like to transition from the discussion regarding the practicalities of discrimination and hate to the theoretical reasons why I believe it is good practice to be concerned about others.

It’s not only good to have an understanding about why you should be concerned about the others, even those who choose to dislike and/or disagree with you, but why we should consider others.

My opinion and I believe that I can assume others may agree that hate for hate only intensifies the existence of hate. I use to respond to hateful people with an equally hateful or sarcastic response. I quickly realized that this practice was a poor illustration of the point I was trying to make. You can hate me, but I don’t have to hate you. You can disagree, ignore or discount what I have to say, but often the person only seeks attention. Essentially we all just seek the anesthetizing comfort of being right or identified with the majority, but it doesn’t mean that our way is the only way. We’re all human, so you may be wrong.

So why allow someone to infect you with their hatred, misconceptions and delusions of your experiences because they don’t understand or disagree with you?

The strong person is the one who recognizes hate in its most illusive disguise and unmask it with love, tolerance, acknowledgment and patience. Because someone must have enough courage, empathy and be moral enough to cut it off and inject within the very structure of the discourse the example of the strong and powerful element of love in the midst of the tragedy of their hate, delusions or misunderstanding. It’s just not worth the unnecessary stress and energy that hate causes.

Considering the experiences and circumstances of others allows you an opportunity to forgive and reconcile yourself by seeking to understand how you may have been wrong, naïve or misinformed.

I just can not find a reason why I should hate you. I may disagree with you, choose not to subscribe to the same ideology as you or dislike what you do, but I don’t see the long-term value in hate, just tragedy of it.

Like an unchecked cancer, hate corrodes the personality and eats away its vital unity. Hate destroys a man’s sense of values and his objectivity. It causes him to describe the beautiful as ugly and the ugly as beautiful, and to confuse the true with the false and the false with the true.” – Martin Luther King, Jr., Strength to Love (1963)


References & Inspirations
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. – 11/17/1957 “Loving Your Enemies

9 thoughts on “The Tragedy of Hate

  1. QUICK THOUGHT: I have to attribute this one to my father. In a sermon he delivered a long time ago he said something to this nature. “When you find yourself at the point where you can sincerely respond in love to hate, that’s when you know that you’re getting the concept of love.” I’m not there yet, but I’m trying.

  2. Hate is such a strong word … so strong that it’s use should be with care … but it’s ok to hate the taste of caraway seeds because that’s aimed at people.

    Agree-disagree is so different than right-wrong (right-wrong in the correct-incorrect sense). Two can disagree, but neither be wrong – but not all disagreements automatically involve two rights. (Ok, now that everyone is totally confused).

    Tim … keep us thinking.

    1. 🙂 LOL I’m following you.

      I can say with confidence, I hate Liver. I hate it when my computer use to crash all of the time, that’s why I got a Mac. 🙂 I hate when the DJ talks through a good song on the radio. But I understand what you’re saying.

      My biggest dislike is when people close their minds, but the only way to overcome it is by working to get rid of it.

      Thanks for reading. The next few are somewhat lighthearted.

  3. When one hates, the only person they hurt is themselves. Hate does nothing to the object of hatred but it eats away at the soul of the one who hates.

    Road rage incidents that end tragically are a micro-example of what happens if you don’t control your anger and just let things pass off. A good exercise to put things in perspective is to think of something that you were once angry about long ago and consider how much it really matters today. Problems of today will look the same in retrospect.

    1. What’s Up David. If you keep coming around we’re bound to become friends. 🙂

      Seriously, good points. Thanks for coming back.

      I think you’ll like the one tomorrow, very light-hearted.

      1. Thanks. I don’t doubt that we can be friends.

        “I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” – MLK

    1. LOL 😀

      Well since I’m not a Lakers fan (I know I’m going to hear something from that one) I guess that’s OK. I really don’t have a big problem with the Red Sox, Dolphins or Flyers, but I haven’t really followed any one team in MLB or NHL. As for the NFL I have to admit by bias. YES, EVEN I HAVE MY BIAS. The Miami Dolphins are OK, if they offered me a contract I would play, but I would prefer to be a… you ready for it… a TENNESSEE TITAN! Coach Fisher is going to have to put me in the game. You need just one player that will do the dirty work for the team. I want to hear the crowd BOO and the other team fear me when I walk onto the field. So I guess hating the Dolphins is OK too.

      Although we shouldn’t hate. 🙂 But I get your point.

Comments are closed.