A Digital Lifestyle

I rarely talk much about the industry that I’m in for various reasons. One reason could be that I’ve been doing it for a decade and getting tired of it and don’t even want to talk about it. It’s the skills that pays the bills is how I look at it. But today I noticed that there are a few things happening in the realm of our digital lifestyle.

FACEBOOK

Facebook announced that Friday, June 12, 2009 at 11:01 PM you will be able to choose a username for your facebook account. Similar to how Twitter has it. So instead of some long URL consisting of numbers and syntaxes you will be able to direct your friends, family and co-workers to your profile via www.facebook.com/username instead. I think that’s a welcomed change for many facebook users or someone who manages a facebook account for an organization.

DIGITAL TELEVISION

Well today is the last day those ‘rabbit ears’ will work on your old television, because tomorrow the U.S.F.C.C. will require all television broadcasters to only broadcast their programming with a digital signal. This means if you haven’t got a converter box for your old school television that sits on top of that other old school floor model television that hasn’t worked since Starsky & Hutch was on the air then you’re out of luck. If you have cable you’re OK.

The U.S. Government has offered a coupon you can apply for if you believe you will have difficulties purchasing the $60 USD converter box by going to https://www.dtv2009.gov/

MOBILE WARS

Just one week after Palm releases the Palm PRE we here AT&T/Apple announce the release of a newer and faster iPhone next week. I’m sticking with my Blackberry, although I’m a Mac User. I don’t see the need to jump on the bandwagon. I’m sure the new and improved iPhone that was release 18 months ago is working perfectly fine for the millions who purchased it and the people who get in my way each time I walk into my local Apple Store.

(My Typical Shopping Experience: No, thank you. I’m going to the software section. No ma’am I don’t work here. I agree the iPhone is nice. Oh, why don’t I have one? I’m happy with my Blackberry. Have you seen the Blackberry Storm? Someone just check me out so I can get out of here. I have debit card in hand.)

DISCONNECTED

I believe many of us are guilty of being so connected that we’ve lost or fear the thought of being disconnected. I’m just as guilty as anyone else. My Blackberry has become one of the primary means of communication for my family, friends, church members and co-workers.

When you find yourself in church going to the Bible on your phone instead of picking up the book in front of you, then you know you have gone digital. Presently, I’m developing the platform for expanding the various church ministries using new technologies. CDs & DVDs are nice, but now it’s Podcasts, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and broadcast text messages to the members and visitors.

I find myself carrying my phone with me while I’m at home, because I don’t want to miss that email, tweet, instant message or the occasional phone call. It’s funny, but it’s sad. We’ve become so connected that we’ve become disconnected from anything that isn’t ran off of a battery or requires a WiFi connection.

So what is my solution? Don’t worry, because who am I to tell you to disconnect. I’m suggesting… (Hold on someone just sent me a tweet)… OK. I’m sorry about that, what was I saying? Oh yeah.

What I’m suggesting is that we begin to incorporate time to disconnect each day. You can even program it into your wireless device to remind you.  🙂  We have DVR so we actually won’t miss our favorite shows, we have voice-mail or an inbox, so we can respond to that call or email when… (BIG SIGH. Hold on. WHAT! You’re OK, but I’m trying to write about disconnecting. WTH LMAO I’ll send them a tweet. LU2)… sorry about that. We can stop all the interruption of life by talking time to disconnect and spending time with family, friends or just reading a book at your local park.

MY GOODNESS, WHO’S EMAILING ME NOW. Hold on.  😐

Anyway, I know it’s going to be difficult to do, but I am actually going to start doing this. So if you comment to this and I don’t respond right away you know why. I obviously have nothing against technology. I’m using it to communicate with you now while listening to my iPod and periodically responding to texts, emails, tweets and an instant message. I say this to myself in addition to those who choose to read it.

Enjoy

@timvalentine:

5 thoughts on “A Digital Lifestyle

  1. Hi Tim,

    I never thanked you for having such an interesting blog and writing style before, but with each visit since our digital lives crossed I have come here and have left here feeling positive about learning. Continue to present your ideas, suggestions and thoughts in the blue ribbon fashion that you do sir. Have a wondeful weekend.

    1. 🙂 Well thank you Al.

      I feel that I don’t always succeed, but that’s my objective. Half the time I’m talking to myself too. And wouldn’t you know it, as I’m replying to you my Blackberry has buzzed 3 times already. This is ridiculous.

      Have a great weekend. Hope it isn’t raining where you are like it is here.

  2. I am seriously thinking of ditching the full-featured cell phone for a disposable when the contract is up.

    1. Well I can only say good luck. Since getting a Blackberry I’ve enjoyed it, but it has become a central source of everything for me. It’s how I can stay connected or people can connect with me. Crazy that you have to make time to disconnect.

      Even if you get something else, someone is going to find you and hound you. (Wife, mother, sister, brother, that extra nosy church member, next door neighbor or Aunt) Good Luck on ditching the phone. You’re a better man than me.

      1. Sometimes I have to unplug from it all for a while. Maybe it’s what they call information overload. This cell phone is the first one I have owned personally. Jobs I’ve had in the past provided top of the line phones that I could also use for personal calls and emails. I have to admit that part of the reason I’m considering ditching it is that now I’m paying for something that used to have a hidden cost.

Comments are closed.