Day of Independence

I thought that I take a slightly different approach to celebrate this Independence Day in the United States. I understand not all may not catch what I’m doing, but I hope you feel that you can respectfully ask me any question or add to what I’m offering on this day of independence.

In America we celebrate our Independence today, July 4th, but I ask you to consider this day in the relations of the independence of many of her citizens. Have we obtained the independence our country was founded upon? I believe the best answer is ‘kind of, but not quite.’ I guess a better way to put it could be “don’t ask, don’t tell”.

Don’t ask what, to the American Black, the American Hispanic, the American Asian, the American Muslim and Native American, the American Gay, the American Poor is your 4th of July? Because you may not like or understand the answer.

Would it be a day that reveals to them, more than all other days in the year, the gross injustice and cruelty to which they are the constant victim?

Would it be a day to them a celebration of a sham; the boasted liberty, an unholy license; our national greatness, swelling vanity?

Would it be a day to them to recoil your sounds of rejoicing as empty and heartless; your denunciation of tyrants around the world, but lack of recognition of the ones among us; the shouts of liberty and equality, hollow mockery; our prayers and hymns, the sermons and thanksgivings, with all your religious parade and solemnity, are, to them, mere bombast, fraud, deception, impiety, and hypocrisy or a thin veil to cover up crimes which would disgrace a nation of savages?

There is not a nation on the earth guilty of practices more shocking and bloody than are the people of the United States. But this is not the sum of who we are?

Although America has made grave mistakes and stood tall in her hypocrisy of democracy we have the opportunity today to celebrate a day of independence. Not just in the name of some patriotic tradition, but independence from what held us back for so many years. We continue to correct the mistakes we’ve made out of ignorance, defiance or subornest with our declaration of independence for all to gain from. When Frederick Douglas wrote and delivered the speech I thinly remixed above, independence was only reality for White men for the most part. Even White women weren’t totally free, despite being socially free.

Today many of us celebrate the accomplishments of America in midst of her failures. We have elected our first President of African decent. Although some continue to stubbornly cling to the ways of yesterday with their rhetoric and acts of hatred and violence towards the greatest assets of America; our diversity and independence. We still have a long road to haul, but what would America be without the diverse independence of the thoughts, ideas and suggestions of its people.
There is no other place on Earth I prefer to live, although there are many beautiful and wonderful places on this planet that we all should be appreciative of. America has much to learn and gain from the world as the world has to learn and gain from America. We are all caught in a network of mutuality. Our independence is bound by the independence of the world. This day of independence is just the day the United States celebrates its sovereignty, but everyday is a day we all can work towards our own independence from what binds us and to correct and improve upon the mistakes we’ve made in our own hypocrisy.

How will you celebrate your day of independence?

References & Inspirations
Frederick Douglas – 07/04/1852 “The Meaning of July Fourth for the Negro

a2a_linkname=”Day of Independence”;a2a_linkurl=”https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/07/04/dayofindependence/”;

7 thoughts on “Day of Independence

  1. It seems pretty clear that you don’t believe in American exceptionalism. I do.

    Your post is an example of something I have noticed about liberals/progressives – they think that because something has faults it must be remade from the bottom to top to correct the imperfections. It is true that we are not perfect today but we are a long way from the inequalities of the past. Give all citizens equality of opportunity, not equality of condition.

    On another note, here is a link to a list of black patriots who took part in the revolution: http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/1143890/posts

    1. WHAT??? OK, if that’s what you want to think. Perhaps it’s due to a lack of teaching of African American history in the classroom that so many including some African Americans don’t recognize Frederick Douglass when it’s thinly remixed. This is the reason why I provided a link to the actual speech.

      There’s no reason for me to take the time to explain. You are once again wrong in your interpretation of me and what I’ve written, but I’m glad that you continue to return back. When people begin to be honest about America in terms of her relationships with groups other than their own they will get a better understanding of the meaning of what I’ve written here.

      I believe that you’re a good person, and I believe the more you continue to broaden your views as you are doing today by visiting this blog I believe we can easily find our common ground.

      The exceptional contributions to this country by the groups I’ve mentioned are just as important and valid as the ones by the ones commonly mentioned in the history books and the various media.

      As I say to everyone, I say to you. Please be safe this weekend. There’s some crazy people out there on the road and on the water. Have fun, but be safe.

      Your Friend,
      Tim

  2. davidshockey

    LOL

    A fucking Freeper?
    We’re honored that you stepped away from your terrorist breeding ground at Free Republic?

    Free Republic, a notorious meeting place of traitors and Fantasy Veterans, has a long history of lies and cowardice.
    James von Brunn, the white supremacist who killed the guard at the Holocaust Museum in Washington, DC on June 10, 2009, had a post that was copied from another site pasted into a topic which was an article claiming that Obama had no birth certificate, a view held by so-called “birthers” such as von Brunn. The thread was deleted by moderators after the shooting but later restored when a review found that it had not violated any posting guidelines.

    Free Republic also gave birth to terrorist wannabe and regular Freeper, Chad Conrad Castagana.

    So you see, shocky. You’re a traitor to your country and people. Just like all Freepers are. Now get out of my country and join your Taliban kind in Afghanistan.

    And take that bitch Jim Robinson with you.
    Tell him Randi Rhodes says hello.

  3. Tim,

    I don’t generally follow links unless they are in the body of the post. I see what you were trying to do.

    But Douglas wrote his piece in 1852 when people were truly held in bondage and truly did face “the gross injustice and cruelty to which they are the constant victim”. Using that language to describe America today is extravagant exaggeration.

    But you claim that I am wrong about you in my comments. I only made four statements.

    1. You don’t believe in American exceptionalism. I assume then that you do agree that America is the best place to live in the earth. We became so not by copying the mistakes made elsewhere.

    2. Progressives think that if something has faults it must be remade from the bottom to top to correct the imperfections. I assume then that you don’t want America to be more like Europe where nations are being crushed by the cost of social programs. Italy crossed a line a few years back, they have more people on the dole than they have working.

    3. It is true that we are not perfect today but we are a long way from the inequalities of the past. You agree?

    4. Give all citizens equality of opportunity, not equality of condition. So you agree that instead of massive social programs we should instead make sure that people have opportunities to work and excel?

    Where am I wrong?

    1. Thanks for following the link. Yes Douglas was speaking in terms of the times according to Black folks, but my remix of it just referenced the similar sentiments or arguments could be made today for many groups of people who continue to not experience America the same way you may see it. It doesn’t mean they don’t love the place, but it hasn’t been so beautiful to all.

      It’s not necessarily speaking about me and my individual view of the country. I love where I am and wouldn’t want to live any other place. I know that there are other beautiful places on Earth, but this is my home. I see its faults and want to correct them as difficult it may be, but I also see its beauty and cherish them equally.

  4. Tim
    Well written post, It makes me think, as all of your posts.
    I know we have a long way to go, but we have made alot of progress in this country,
    I think we can celebrate the progress we made and also celebrate that we are still learning as a people,
    What gives me hope is that the Younger generation seems to get what this country should be like, alot more than my generation or even the so called Greatest-Generation has.
    Keep on posting and bringing up points that make us think.
    Larry

    1. Thanks Larry for checking me out. I plan on getting back on the ball this week with daily posts, just been ridiculously busy the past three weeks.

Comments are closed.