Table Talk (Part 2)

***IN CONTINUATION***

PERSONAL ANALYSIS

Regardless of politics of an individual, I supported Barack Obama because he was one of few politicians who was the closest aligned to my general temperament and overall outlook on the world and the situations of people specifically. I liked the other candidates, although I was a little suspicious of Former AK Rep. Mike Gravel and OH Rep. Dennis Kucinich is interesting I get their points. I even defended Mitt Romney from the people I ran into who wanted to criticize his religious beliefs and politics. I don’t believe Republican really listened to him, but I believe they were trying to moderate, so there’s John McCain.

There were some who believed that a vote for Obama was based off of race. I agree for some people it was about race, both directly and indirectly. I’m not going to be naïve to believe differently.

Some Whites voted for him because of race as a way to relieve the guilt of their conscience in some way as if they employed slaves themselves or purchasing racial reconciliation on the cheap. You know this is true, because we all heard the ridiculous comments proclaiming racism is over and there’s not need for various acts or programs anymore, because the election of a Black man as President.

Some Blacks voted for him because of race as a form of getting back at the countless years of injustice placed upon us by the American society. Many Blacks, not Whites, Asians, Natives or Latinos, but Black people ridiculously questioned the authenticity of his heritage. Remember the “Is He Black Enough” question?

Yes, some people of certain ethnicities still attempt to wage the same question today for disingenuous patriotic, religious and ethnic purposed, but it shows you how much work still remains to be done in this country and world to eradicate the racial division, mistrust and lack of socialization. So racism is long from being over or defeated.

It’s alright to have pride in who you are and your racial heritage, but you should be able to exhibit the same level of consideration for others too. When it goes to pride for one and despise all others is when it starts getting dicey.

I really believe anyone can be friends regardless of the measurement or distance of their differences. It just takes time and the disperse of our own mistrust, misunderstanding and lack of concern of each other.

Politically, I haven’t wholeheartedly agreed with every decision the President has made, but I understand where he’s coming from. Some moves are born from a political strategist and some are independent. Everyone is not going to give him a chance for whatever the reason may be and will act as certain high-profile individuals have and make treasons statements for the purpose of political gain. This is true on all sides of the spectrum. I believe that what I am to do is to try to build upon what President Obama help bring back to the forefront of our societal and global conscience; consider others.

So if I can help an obviously traditionally Conservative Southern White Middle-Aged Male better understand that a thirty-something year old Black Male is smarter and wiser than what has be portrayed to him then I think that’s what I’m suppose to do. If I can help a Black guy who has little contact or bad experiences with White, Asian or Latin people in general and say that the same issues you deal with they have their own version of it to contend with, then that’s what I believe I should do. The people who has disagreed with me or called me names or labeled me this or that, I try my best not to get upset or defensive. But look at it as an opportunity to bring people together.

If only Christians, Muslims and others would do that, but that’s another post all together. If Black people can just put down our suspicion and mistrust, regardless how historically it justified may be, but “drop the stone” that has helped build the wall between us and them. Maybe we all can “tear down this wall” that has divided us for so long. White people, if you can just become more aware and empathetic towards the role some Whites have played throughout history up to the present day in relation of race relations. It’s obviously not all and I can easily point out many who this statement doesn’t apply to, but I think you understand what I’m saying. We all have someone crazy or just down right ignorant in our family that does something to embarrass everyone.

It’s more than just Black and White. In fact both Blacks & Whites should be more considerate towards everyone else. We dominate everything and make everything out to be either or. We make every issue about us instead of seeing how it affects other cultures and races. It’s amazing. Perhaps I should say Black & White people need to stop trippin’ and being so oblivious to the world around us and start being more considerate of others.

HA! How about that? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Table Talk (Part 2)

  1. I just cannot understand how anyone can disagree with any of your points,
    As I said before, I have some in my family who lets race influence them
    Then their is one of my Brothers who is very much to the right, but he would 100% agree with your points,

    So it is possible, for Both Liberals and Conservatives to agree on race relations, they just disagree on how to achieve the goals of obtaining economic and social equality for all.

  2. Good set of posts. Rather than say what he said, this man you overheard could have said something simpler and less controversial that would have communicated the same message: people usually vote for the candidate who is most like them. I wouldn’t have voted for John “Eight houses/Can’t use a computer/Bomb-bomb-bomb Iran/McMaverick” McCain because he’s obviously not like me.

    Race and gender are so easy to pick on because they are sometimes the only two characteristics that you know about a person, but there are way more factors that go into assessing a politician (or a potential Supreme Court justice, for instance) than that.

  3. Another thought-provoking post, Tim. Common decency and respect are seemingly rare these days. Let’s hope we all may return to a place where life is valued more highly. Have a good week.

Comments are closed.