Saving Private Bergdahl

I can’t image any military personnel either past or present would ever make such a insensitive statement about a prisoner of war in the manner FOX News Analyst, but more notable Retired Army Lt. Col. Ralph Peters managed to lend during an interview this past week.

Private Bowie Bergdahl (23) was captured by the Taliban around June 30th and this is what Ralph Peters had to say…

I want to be clear. If, when the facts are in, we find out that through some convoluted chain of events, he really was captured by the Taliban, I’m with him. But if he walked away from his post and his buddies in war time, I don’t care how hard it sounds, as far as I’m concerned, the Taliban can save us a lot of legal hassles and legal bills.” – U.S. Army Lt. Col. Ralph Peters (Retired)

Now I’m sure the FOX News supporters and apologists may seek an opportunity to launch some baseless and meaningless attack towards me, but this isn’t about me or FOX News. Yes I’m suspicious of any ‘reporting’ that comes from FOX News, but the fact the Mr. Peters is a FOX News Analyst or his political affiliations is not the issue or concern to me. So I’m not coming against what some hold dear. I’m speaking about his statement and apparent lack of concern towards a captured solider. Regardless of how he was captured, he’s still a U.S. Soldier, where’s your patriotism and support for the troops. And I’m unpatriotic or don’t support the troops, save it.

How can anyone be so callous towards their fellow citizen and solider regardless of your or their professional status/ranking? Now if you say you want to wait until all the facts are out, why have you presumed Private Bergdahl is guilty? The reasons why he was captured doesn’t matter, the objective is to get him back safely.

Just a Thought: Since the Taliban continues uploading videos everywhere, why can’t we try to trace the source of the IP Address. I’m sure someone may have already considered this, but if not here you go.

2 thoughts on “Saving Private Bergdahl

  1. When I saw this story my blood pressure tripled. I am going to refrain from commenting because If I said what I really thought about the Lt. Col. (retired) comments I might get myself arrested.

Comments are closed.