You Fit The Description (Part 2)

Click to Listen to an interview by Michele Martin of NPR: Tell Me More that aired on 07/31/09. The 17:10 min/sec conversation titled “A Modern-Day Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner” is the inspiration for this question/survey I invite you to participate in.

As President Obama, Vice President Biden, Harvard Professor Dr. Henry Gates and Cambridge Police Sgt. James Crowley met in the Rose Garden of the White House Thursday for beer and a reconciliatory chat centered on race. I invite you to share one or some of your stories that involves racial profiling either by police or security personnel.

If you have never been racially profiled by the police or security consider yourself fortunate, but I ask of you to give your honest and realistic opinion of why you may not have been profiled?

Please understand that racial profiling is not exclusive, anyone can be racially profiled. The social acceptance of mistrust is often directed at Black & Hispanic men, it can occur to others too.

In addition, I ask that you include your race & gender (i.e. ‘Black Male‘ or ‘Italian Female‘).  Now some may wonder why I would want to know your gender and race. This is my attempt of racial profiling, although I’m not going to use it against you in any way; it serves as a survey.

3 thoughts on “You Fit The Description (Part 2)

  1. I got busted in Arizona in 1996.
    Later found out from my lawyer that we were “profiled” and fit it to a tee.

    Two white males, facial hair, rented car, I-40 east bound.

    Major Arizona to Tennessee cocaine smuggling corridor.
    The money on I-40 goes East to West. The blow comes West to East. They let the money go through and start pulling people coming back.
    What I would have give to have known that at the time. 🙂

    We had a few grams of nose candy we picked up in LA. Talk about being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

    Racial profiling is a bummer. But I’m still perplexed that the 4th Amendment violation, which was more apparent then the racial aspect, has gone 100% unaddressed.
    All in all, Obama’s kegger was a good idea and it appears it worked well. Gates sent the person who made the 911 call flowers. That was a classy move. That person caught a lot of hell they didn’t deserve.

    1. You fit the description. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your story. It’s just one example of many stories out there of people regardless of their race being profiled, because they fit the description.

  2. I can’t say that I’ve been knowing profiled, but I did listen to the linked interview. Two comments stuck me here:
    1) The one about getting stuck in their scripts. Wow … so true in other situations do … especially politics

    2) To go deeper in discussions, you have to take the time to get to know someone … develop the trust. Oh yes, I knew this … but the question is how often does this occur across the racial barrier.

    Thanks for the link.

Comments are closed.