Is The Grand Ole Party Over? (Part 4)

Conclusion

Now some will dismiss what I’ve said and may curse me for even questioning what it means to be a Republican. That’s OK, but if you do you have misunderstood my intentions. This is not about the Democrats or any other political party; it’s about the future of the Republican Party.

Others may question me as why I even care about the future of the Republican Party? Well if I put on my political partisan hat and represent the Democratic Party of today I shouldn’t care if the GOP lives or dies. I would say, keep doing what you’re doing, knowing the outcome is the ultimate collapse of the party, but I’m not asking the question as a Democrat or as a Black man. I’m asking it as an American with a fascination of political history. I ask as someone who is concerned about people regardless of who they are or what they are. So I say to my fellow Democrats of today, I am not abandoning the party. I have little sympathy for the Republican Party of today. Primarily due to my conclusion that they know what they’re doing and they have essentially ignored and skewed their own principles.

As I’ve said recently, the enemy of the Republican Party is the same enemy of the Democratic Party and any other political party. I can’t make anyone do anything. I hold no political power at this time except for my right to vote, but isn’t that the greatest political power we have?

I’m saying this to you as I believe President Lincoln would have been inclined to say, although with more eloquence. Although I’m a Democrat who is Black I say this to you as a friend who understands that the enemy of the Republican Party is the same enemy of the Democratic Party. What consumed us, consumes you today. Do something about your racial problems before it is truly eternally too late.

America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.” – Abraham Lincoln

References & Inspirations
Huffington Post – 07/29/09 “We’ve Becoming a Rural & Southern Party
Time Magazine – 12/14/02 “Lott, Reagan & Republican Racism
RNC – 1884 “The Republican Campaign Text Book for 1884
NY Times – 07/02/02 “Congress’ Sole Black Republican is Retiring
Ethnic Majority – 2009 “Minority Members of Congress
Politico – 05/19/08 “GOP Fails to Recruit Minorities
New York Magazine – 02/22/09 “The GOP’s New Colors
QUICK STATS:
According to Ethnic Majority there are only 4 Republicans (All Hispanic) out of the 75 minority members of Congress. That’s a shame. (Source: Ethnic Majority)
NOTE:
Pay attention to the comments and what they suggest.
3 thoughts on “Is The Grand Ole Party Over? (Part 4)

  1. You message is always the same – simply having a world without racism (and to me, without the connotation of race). Continue your message … continue your message.

    1. Thank you, but it seems that it’s not getting through as easily and quickly as I would like. I really believe that if we just talk and be honest about it all we can get past it and move on to fixing other things. I don’t have all the answers, but I’m willing to search for them.

      Well there’s actually one more, but it’s more of a conclusion. So check me out tomorrow.

  2. Of course you know I’ll be there tomorrow! 🙂

    Conversation is important and probably not regarded enough. President Obama’s move of getting the two in conflict together to talk was an example. Before they met, I told someone that the hope is that their conversation continues after that day. Maybe the professor includes the police officer in campus classes and discussions. Maybe the police officer uses the professor as part of police training. If so … it all started over a beer with a conversation – thus precisely your point.

Comments are closed.