Madam Justice

*I wanted to make mention of this before too much time passes by, therefore I pushed back my original post for today to speak briefly about the confirmation of our newest Supreme Court Justice; Sonia Sotomayor.*

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Sen. Robert Menendez (D-NJ) had a few words for his 31 Republican Senate colleagues who voted against confirming Judge Sonia Sotomayor to the suppress court. I couldn’t agree with him more, because it simply goes in line with the unwise political trend within the GOP.

To say you can not vote for this qualified Latina sends a message to us, as a community. That we will not forget.” – Sen. Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

So only 9 of the 40 Republicans in the Senate were courageous enough to break with the party’s rank and file and use common sense and vote for Sonia Sotomayor as U.S. Supreme Court Justice. So I salute those who voted for her, although I suspect some were due to the increased pressure and poor publicity it’s still good that they finally did the right thing.

So who were these 9 brave conservative souls, three who are retiring so I guess they felt they didn’t have much support to lose? Whatever the case may have been the vote was appreciated.

  • Sen. Mel Martinez (R-FL) – I would think this would be a wise move given he is the ONLY Latino Republican, but I guess the fact he’s retiring had no bearing on his decision.
  • Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) – I’m a bit surprised and still leary with much he says or does, but whatever it takes Lindsey. That’s what you would say, right?
  • Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) – I’m personally suspicious of this one, given the hit he’s taking in TN regarding his position on healthcare and how he tends to run towards the crowd on certain issues, I’m surprised he would even vote for to confirm her, but whatever suspicious the reason a vote is a vote. I believe that’s what someone said in 2000.
  • Sen. Christopher Bond (R-MO)
  • Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME) – Although I’m not surprised by her vote since she’s one of the few Republicans who trends more moderate than insane.
  • Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) – Another of which I’m not too surprised with. Although I’m glad she came around. She and Collins are two of the handful of Republicans left, unless they care to join the DNC.
  • Sen. Richard Lugar (R-IN) I’m not too surprised with his vote.
  • Sen. Judd Gregg (R- NH)Although I question much of what he says he made a good choice this time.
  • Sen. George Voinocich (R-OH) – Why isn’t this Republican leading the party, because he states it plainly enough for his Republican collegues to understand. I love what he said about “bringing out the best & worst in the senate”. I think there are some things that is simply due to a lack of cultural understanding of her comments clearly taken out of context, but I’m glad he looked at the content of her character and not the color of her skin.

It’s difficult to watch, because the GOP doesn’t realize that their house is burning. Despite all of the warnings and attempts to help they’re choosing to integrate the fringe and extremist into it as the moderates are segregated from it.

Anyway, congratulations to the newest member of the United States Supreme Court, Justice Sonia Sotomayor, but I also want to share my joy with my Latino friends in celebrating the accomplishments of such a WISE LATINA WOMAN.

References & Inspirations
AP/Yahoo News – 08/06/09 “Sotomayor OK’d for Supreme Court in historic vote
3 thoughts on “Madam Justice

  1. As I’ve said several time on my posts, I challenge party leader Sen McConnell & party committee lead Sen Sessions and the rest of his gang with this statement – If she is judicially biased, please identify the cases demonstrating your claim. I closely listened to their statements and they never came through.

    As a party, they were willing to politically push away Hispanics just to make a point to the president. Pathetic … simply pathetic.

    I’m wondering …. if legislation about smoking lettuce became in place, how would the court rule if it was challenged?

  2. Good Post, I am not sure how many of the 31 are up for reelection, but they could be facing trouble, The Latino Population is growing rapidly in many states, and where Jeb and George Bush did a good job luring their vote the Latino vote is solidly anti-Republican now,
    I have to wonder when or if Sens Snowe and Collins might switch to the Democratic party or become independents.
    And as far as Sen Voinocich goes He is what the Republican Party should be,
    He is not a liberal but he looks at issues one by one and while I am sure I would disagree with many of his votes, he does treat all with respect and does not kiss the extreme rights butt. It is a shame he is leaving, because that just mean one more Limbaugh/Savage Wacko that can be elected.

Comments are closed.