What Happened to the GOP?

WOW!

Now as a Democrat I must offer a defense of the characterizations used by the gentleman reading the letter in regards to Republicans.

Although I’m not a big fan of the Michael Steele of today either, but to call him an Uncle Tom has racial charged implications within that statement itself. Refrain from lowering your level of decency below that of the one who you are condemning, regardless how justifiable it may appear. It’s unfair to classify all Republicans as bad or evil. As the author of “Open Letter to Republicans” can testify to is that anyone can change. The problem is truly what has become of the Republican Party and those who have chosen to follow what it is today.

Now that I have said that, allow me to say this.

Before I even begin with this series I would like to say that I know that there will be those who read what I have written, supporting links and view the video clips embedded and immediately take offensive to it as if my intentions are to shame, denigrate or attack the Republican Party, Republicans, Conservatives, Christians and Whites. That analysis is the furthest from my intentions and is an example of the extent mistrust, misinterpretation, lack of socialization and partisan we have allowed ourselves to become.

After weeks and months of writing and warning about what is happening to the GOP, I now have stopped saying is and have began saying has, because it has become the norm for the party. The status-quo is no longer represented by the Republicans of yesterday, such as Jack Kemp, Colin Powell and even Gerald Ford to name a few. When the ONLY elected Black Republican Congressman (J.C. Watts) and the ONLY elected Latino Republican Congressman (Mel Martinez) can find more support and respect for their voice and ideas by leaving the Republican Party, then something is wrong.

What happened to the GOP?

The loaded gun is on the table thanks to the works of Frances Schaefer, James Dobson, and others. Karl Rove, Dick Cheney, Michael Malkin, Michael Savage, Rush Limbaugh, Glenn Beck, Bill O’Reilly, Sean Hannity, Sarah Palin and friends are the ones supplying the ammunition. Along with the timid silence of many respectable Republicans in office and those who has left office already.

Now with the Republican grown-ups gone, who is teaching the next conservative class?

The individuals who carry loaded guns to rallies, the people who are so blinded with their own individual concerns they have yet to address the man who has nothing, choosing to ridicule him for his situation. It’s the ones who I’ve previously named that has become the substitute teachers for the party, who is only in there for the money and power. They could care less about accuracy, civility or the true definition of the Republican Party.

What happened to the GOP?

4 thoughts on “What Happened to the GOP?

    1. First, thank you for reading and commenting.

      I’ve honestly have had my bouts with members of the GOP and immediately taken a defensive position, but for most of this year I have sincerely tried to really understand the positions of the GOP. In the past I have found areas of agreement on some issues, just our approach to achieving them are often different.

      But what has been taking over the GOP with more vigor since September 2008 is, if not already destroyed much of its ability to ever have a diverse coalition again or at least for a long while. Many have mistaken my writing as an attack on the GOP, but I just ask that people just take the time to follow the message I’m trying to offer and incorporate it.

      This post is the beginning to a series I hope gets at what I feel is ruining the world and much of the things we value within it.

      Once again, I appreciate you reading and commenting. Hope to hear from you again soon. 😀

  1. I’ve said this long ago and it’s very appropriate here. Yes the GOP screwed up and yes the party has been hijacked, but it’s Democratic Party will be the ones who return the Republicans to power. You see … political parties don’t handle prosperity well.

    On the other hand, the environment now actually gives a chance for the Libertarians – that is if they can syphon off those to the far right, that leaves the GOP with an chance to capture the center.

    Thanks for sharing this Tim!

    1. I agree with you. I believe there are many Democrats who are forgetting the struggle it was to get to this point and now have become complacent and the value in victory. But you’re going to make me reveal an upcoming post.

      If the Libertarians are savvy they would take this as a political opportunity to make some tremendous gains against the GOP, just as the Green Party has done to the Democratic Party.

Comments are closed.