I’m Asking, Can You Tell

Here’s a very challenging question for you to ponder over in hope that it may allow us to consider others. These are not religious questions; therefore a religious answer is not required. It does require you to think for yourself.

I’m not personally insinuating anything by asking the question, with the exception of my embrace for consideration. So do not assume anything or avoid answering the question by asking a question. I want to know what you think or believe and what that may suggest about you.

  1. How do you become gay (homosexual)?
  2. How do you become straight (heterosexual)?
  3. Are you born into an expectation?

You don’t have to be homosexual, heterosexual or even bisexual to answer the two questions, just honest. I’m interested in what you think.

I’m not going to allow anyone to verbally assault any of your responses. I only ask that you answer respectfully, sincerely and for yourself. I’m not going to judge you either way, whether it is considerate or inconsiderate, just consider each other’s point-of-view.

Share with others.

2 thoughts on “I’m Asking, Can You Tell

  1. An excellent question, Tim. Personally, I’ve always felt all of us are/become what we live. That’s a gross generalization I have to admit, but that’s my take. Having said that sir, what’s unique about humans is we have the capacity to reason, so it’s okay to accept our fellow man/woman for the choices they have made. We all have but one life to live, and hopefully it’s a life without regrets.

    Have a great week.

  2. I had to think about this question for a few days. Let me start by saying what sexuality is not. It’s not a “condition,” in the sense that you can’t come down with a case in homosexuality. More to the point, it was in the 1970s I believe that the American Medical Association voted to state that homosexuality was not a mental illness. I also don’t think that, as Al writes, sexuality is a choice.

    I tend to think that it’s a chemical matter. Just as some people are attracted to blond hair, a muscular physique, brown eyes, or any such combination, I don’t think it’s unfair to say that some people are genetically wired to prefer members of the same sex.

    Now, getting to your third question, society obviously has different expectations for how boys and girls are treated and how they should behave from the moment they’re born. The lines are becoming less distinct now — we accept that boys can take ballet lessons and girls can do karate, for example. As such, sexuality is no longer a given attribute. So, in summary, boys and girls can participate in a variety of activities that were once socially taboo to their sex, but those things will not change the sexuality which is a product of genetics.

    (I’m not a scientist or a psychologist, so I’m just taking a stab at your thoughtful questions!)

Comments are closed.