What Makes You American?

I’m Not A Racist: What Makes You Appear American?

What makes you appear American?

I’ve ended what I thought was a friendship with someone that was nice to another friend of mine who was an Arab Muslim, but privately told me that as a Christian I shouldn’t be associating with Muslims. Then he made it worse by telling me that he wasn’t a racist, because we (me and him) may be different races, but we’re both Christian and we got along fine. So I asked him if we got along so well as friends who believe in God, why can’t we get along with someone who isn’t Christian? Is it because we believe something different? How different are we and our beliefs if we do not take the opportunity to consider and accept each other as who we are and not what others may want us to be?

He told me that I didn’t understand. I agree, I don’t understand any reason for discrimination. If Jesus discriminated who would he had as apostles? But let me reserve my righteous indignation for another day.

Perhaps this is just a subject that drives down my avenue of interest, or maybe this is what I’m suppose to be doing. Either way, there is a problem that is not American, nor is it of any other nation. It’s a curse that is ruining the world in installments. Not realizing the racist, bias, prejudice within you is the carbon monoxide of it all. Eventually it will consume you. Saying “I’m not a racist” is unacceptable, because if you’re truly do not harbor racial animosity, religious intolerance and/or an ethnic bias you will have little need to say I’m not a racist.

Consider Others.

5 thoughts on “What Makes You American?

  1. This is an excellent video, so thanks for finding it … plus I agree with you. Tim, one of the reasons I admire your posts is that you really try to practice what you preach. I’m sure you’re the first to say that you too have pitfalls, but you try and not enough people do!

    Recently I was in a group where the conversation took an unexpected turn. At first I was trying to figure out how it turned … and I never found the connection … but I must admit that I reacted like the majority in the video as I simply left the room for a few minutes … maybe if I would have seen this video and the one the other day explaining questions about racism, I would have reacted differently … and more effectively!

    Thanks for this fabulous post.

    1. Thanks. It’s about to get deep soon so please tell others.

      I can honestly say that I’ve never initially assumed someone was racist. You can make a good judgment by listening or reading what they have to say in response to certain situations whether they harbor any racial animosity or misconceptions. I’ve never gotten than perception from you.

      Not everyone is willing to argue with someone on this issue, but if I do not understand anything else I understand this issue. I’ve talked about wanting to have the opportunity to speak to the world or anyone about this in an open setting and just decided to just do it. If what I’m saying is true, the opportunity will find me. So I’m talking about it in detail. Monday will be a very good one.

      But getting to the incident you experienced. You did the right thing by leaving. Sometimes leaving is the better thing to do. I’ve been in situations with some family members who have said something out of place in regards to race and checked them right then. It wasn’t comfortable, but they have enough respect now to not say it when I’m near. Some people are just caught up in their own ways that explaining something is a waste of time. So leaving is often the better and more peaceful way to do it.

  2. Hi Tim,

    Cheers to you for “doing the right thing”. It’s rather interesting that our society still deals with a racial divide every Sunday–in church of all places. Shaking my head in disbelief and wondering what heaven thinks of people who profess to love Jesus, who they have never seen, yet hold a fellow human being in contempt.

    Have a safe and blessed weekend sir.

    1. Thank you Al. It is suppose to be nice here tomorrow.

      Well I can honestly say that I really haven’t had any animosity towards any races or religions. There are some beliefs I either don’t understand or disagree with, but I also don’t have to believe them either. The hardest thing is getting people to see discrimination, then understand it. Although the guy in the personal example I talked about happen to be White I had more than a few similar occasions where the other person was Black and the person they were discriminating against was White, and another against someone who was an Atheist. I just have low tolerance for intolerance.

      The conversations next week will be very interesting. I hope you will share it with others.

      Since my son’s birthday is late in the year he will not start K until next year. He’s still in PreK. But he knows everything now or so he thinks. He got that from his mother 😀
      Seriously, thanks. How the time passes us by. Just two more months and boom, he’s here.

      I hope you have a safe and pleasant weekend.

  3. First, what some people unfortunately get wrong is that “American” and “Christian” are not inherently synonymous. There are those who would like to believe this but it’s fantasy.
    The first Christians were not Americans, nor was Jesus for that matter.
    There are “Christians” in India. Are they less Christian because they’re not American? What a very strange attitude some people have.
    Jesus said, (and I don’t copy and paste verses, btw), that we get our reward by loving those who don’t love us. By being kind to those who are unkind to us. Even a murderer loves his mom. Is he rewarded for this, or would he be condemned for the lack of love shown for his victim? There’s no reward in caring only for those we want to care about.

    It is fundamentally un-Christian to portray Jesus as one who loves only his followers. Every atheist, Muslim, whoever…is a potential Christian to Jesus. We were all “potential” Christians at one time or another.

    Also, as “Christians” we were instructed to set good examples for people watching us. They see kindness, they equate kindness with Christianity.
    They see hatred in the name of Jesus, the see Jesus, and His followers, as hatred.
    If we reject another in the name of Christ, because they’re not Christians, we reject Christ.
    It’s that simple.
    I lived in the middle east for five years. I was never once rejected by a Muslim. In fact, embraced.

    Hey, my hands are dirty. But I have a personal code of conduct that is Biblically based.
    It’s called Matt: 25 36-40
    Still trying to figure out what it is the Right Wing doesn’t understand about that particular lesson.

    Thanx, Tim. 😉

Comments are closed.