I’m Not a Racist? (Conversation 3)

This is an example of unconscious and a bit of systemic racism at work. Before I continue I should define systemic racism also known as Institutional Racism.

Systemic or Institutional Racism are those forces, social arrangements, institutions, structures, policies, precedents and systems of social relations that operate to deprive certain racially identified categories equality.

Sociologist may define it as an accepted social arrangement that excludes on the basis of race. I would have to preface that definition to point out the fine line that is drawn when people or organizations choose to label themselves a certain way that may emphasis exclusion or self-segregation and those who actually prohibit inclusion of someone based of race or affiliation.

Many people have mistaken the N.A.A.C.P. as an Black organization. It is true that the majority of its membership is Black which often drives some of the perceptions, but it is not a Black organization. Despite being founded by progressive minded Whites the organization has worked to help find justice for other groups who are not Black. I characterized it once to a young lady who showed her prejudice and ignorance of the organization by asking her three questions. What color is she? She replied by saying White. Then I ask if White was a color? She said yes. Then I ask her does she know what the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People meant? She replied by saying Black People. After shaking my head I explained to her that she is a victim of unconscious racism and bigotry, because she automatically assumes and accepts that White People are not colored. It was a bit of a humorous exchange, but she began to understand the point I was trying to bring across.

Another example of unconscious and systemic racism can be easily uncovered by recalling the 2008 election cycle.

***NOW WE’RE ABOUT TO GET INTO THE SENSITIVE AREAS, SO IF YOU’RE NOT ANGRY, CONFUSED, SCARED, OUTRAGED, INFORMED OR MOTIVATED BY NOW, PERHAPS OUR NEXT FEW CONVERSATIONS MAY HELP.***
2 thoughts on “I’m Not a Racist? (Conversation 3)

    1. Thanks. 😀

      Frank is a cool guy. I can say that in public and have said it in private. So welcome. I’m not as crazy or serious as it may appear on screen.

Comments are closed.