I’m Not a Racist? (Conclusion)

There is so much more than I would like to share and receive from you, but I want to take this moment to conclude this conversation by offering you something to consider when you examine what has been said, incorporate into your life and share with others.

When you change the way you think, you begin to change the way you live. How you act often represents how you think. So be aware of what you say and what you think. This is the battle of the mind and the way to ruin and save you, others and the world we all share.

It’s a process. I’m often suspiciously questioned by people who know me and those who just meet me that notice something different or a change. I’m either quiet or more outspoken about certain things as if something was wrong with me. It’s nothing wrong, but I’m just changing my mind on some things that many have chosen to accept without challenge.

You have to decide whether to be quiet on things that should be addressed or whether you speak about things you should be quiet about. The balance is knowing which one you should do. Either will reveal who you are more than what you suggest you are.

Often we create or modify a belief system to ensure comfort. Think about it, who likes to be uncomfortable? No one in the right mind. How often is what we believe proven absolutely true? It is this much I know for sure. Most people are too afraid to ask themselves that question. When confronted with a truth that challenges a long held or beloved belief, tradition or condition many often find themselves in a very uncomfortable situation. So what is our initial reaction? Defense.

This is why I continue to repeat the phrase, consider others. It is a counter argument to defense. When you consider others you consider who they are over what they are so you’re mind isn’t divided with confusing thoughts, ideas and suggestions.

We often are quick to reference our memories and experiences; both remind us of the past. But few are willing to embrace their imagination and considerations; attributes that offers a preview of the future.

So when it comes to race, ask yourself what am I really afraid of? I’m not a racist, am I?

I thank those who joined in this conversation, those who shared their experiences and comments and those who were silent throughout this conversation. You may not have said anything, but I hope you gained something from it. Thank you.

Consider Others.

3 thoughts on “I’m Not a Racist? (Conclusion)

  1. Hey Tim,

    Thanks for sharing this important series. Yes, you are absolutely right–none of us like to feel uncomfortable, so inadvertently our silence, regarding addressing the sensitive issue of race, has more often than not made the situation spiral even more out of control. At least you care to offer an unclenched fist to anyone seeking to find harmony and common-groud–two thumbs up to you sir. Back again next week.

    Have a safe and wonderful weekend.

    1. Well thank you Al for having the courage to read and to comment.

      There has been times where I have been silent, although it has been a rare occasion, on some of these issues. Either due to not wanting to go in detail about it or it just took me by surprise. I kept quiet after asking an elderly lady who made a very racist statement about Whites, because I could tell she was not wanting to discuss race with an open mind, plus I try to show some respect for the elderly even if I strongly disagree with them and I had a good feeling why she felt the way she did. I grew up in a different era than she did. I’ve only known desegregated schools and neighborhoods and had the opportunity to speak very openly about race where she would have been lynched. So I understood her position, just disagreed with it.

      One day we’ll meet and you’ll see how silly and easy going I am.

      It’s going to rain all this weekend where I am, but at least I don’t have to water the lawn. I love saving money. 😀

  2. Sounds like you’re fiscally responsible, Tim. Guess it’s not just a trait we Republicans can lay claim to. Appreciate how you exercised good judgement and understanding in your interactions with the elderly woman in your example above. Picking our battles wisely is indicative of wisdom. Even though you are right, you knew any attempt at reasoning with her would be akin to me trying to reason with someone like David Duke about the pitfalls of clumping all blacks into the same column. Nevertheless, Tim, may you always have much money to save. Safe weekend/and thanks for promoting the only race that counts–the human race.

Comments are closed.