Justice is Color Blind

Didn’t we just discuss this for two weeks?

https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/10/09/racistconversation5/
https://timvalentine.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/racistconversation6/

Oh I forgot, “I’m not a racist because I have Black friends” defense.

Can someone say it with me? UNCONSCIOUS RACISM

You should always be aware of the person who says, “I’m not a racist”. If you’re not a racist you don’t have to say it. Your actions will speak for you.

Summary

OK, so this is the story. A few days ago a Judge in New Orleans denied an interracial couple a marriage license on the grounds of his belief the marriage would not work, he does not believe in “the mixing of the races” and his lack of self-acknowledgement that he would be one of the people who would discriminate against any children they may have.

Details

In New Orleans, Louisiana a justice of the peace said he refused to issue a marriage license to an interracial couple out of concern for any children the couple might have.

My Comment: It’s always about sex isn’t it.

Keith Bardwell, justice of the peace in Tangipahoa Parish, says it is his experience that most interracial marriages do not last long.

“I’m not a racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way,” Bardwell told the Associated Press on Thursday.

My Comment: Of course not, you just have issues with race.

“I have piles and piles of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my bathroom. I treat them just like everyone else.”

My Comment: WHAT! You’re kidding me, right?

Bardwell said he asks everyone who calls about marriage if they are a mixed race couple. If they are, he does not marry them, he said.

My Comment: Oh, well then. That’s not racist. Just because you refuse to do your job, because of race doesn’t mean you’re racist. Come on now.
Bardwell said he has discussed the topic with blacks and whites, along with witnessing some interracial marriages. He came to the conclusion that most of black society does not readily accept offspring of such relationships, and neither does white society, he said.

My Comment: Oh, so you talked about with Black people. So that doesn’t make you racist. Seriously, don’t validate your argument on the myth that Black people can’t be racist, because they can. Racism isn’t racist, because anyone can be one.

“There is a problem with both groups accepting a child from such a marriage,” Bardwell said. “I think those children suffer and I won’t help put them through it.”

My Comment: This is a lie. It’s only a problem among racist.

If he did an interracial marriage for one couple, he must do the same for all, he said.

“I try to treat everyone equally.”

My Comment: OK, I’m trying not to laugh at this one. How in the Hell do you say that with a straight face? As my sister would say, For Real Dude? You’ve got to be kidding me. I’m being Punk’d right now, right? OK. You try to treat everyone equally, so you demonstrate your non-racist attitude by marrying people who are of the same race, but not marrying people who are not. I bet you do this on a Bible too. Besides disobeying the law, you’re going against the word of God. Unless your Bible reads “God is a respecter of persons”.

You’ve got to read the rest of this story for yourself. No one is forcing you to get married to someone because of social perceptions, but you shouldn’t be denied the right to get married to someone because of social perceptions.
http://www.blackamericaweb.com/?q=articles/news/the_state_of_black_america_news/13496
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/10/15/interracial-couple-denied_n_322784.html
*An eyebrow should be raised, but I’ll let you think about this before I get into it any further. But it’s coming. So don’t asking me, because I’m not telling.  Just keep reading. 🙂

The sad thing is that I have run across people just like this on this very blog. No matter how much you try to explain it to them, they still don’t get it.

One thought on “Justice is Color Blind

  1. After being shocked and laughing at some of his comments this clown must be removed from the bench and if he has a law degree he should be disbarred and also the justice dept should investigate any and all of his rulings, He may sloo being facing civil and criminal charges for using his office for rulings like this.

Comments are closed.