Can You Tell Me How To Get…

On this day 40 years ago one of the longest running television programs debut. If you was a child of the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s or even if you’re a child today you probably have watch at least one episode of Sesame Street at some point in your life.

Sesame Street is a production of the Children’s Television Workshop, Goodbye. 🙂

Whoa! Hold up I got caught up there for a moment.

I guess some of us never really grow up, because whenever I hear the theme song it always puts a smile on my face. I guess it’s the innocence of it all that makes me smile. It’s a place that allowed you to be yourself and to learn the similarities in our differences. This message seems to have been a recurring theme in my life. Perhaps I should give credit to Sesame Street in addition to other factors and people in my life, because it taught me the fundamentals of appreciation and the tremendous value in diversity.

As a father I often make sure I take a moment to sit with my son and watch the show with him. One of my fondest memories is a skit called “Clap, Clap, Clap”. I remember watching this as a little kid myself and to have the opportunity to sit with my son as we watched it together shows the power of the show and the meaning in its message.

Regardless of where you are in life, Sesame Street seems to always have the ability to carry your back to that special time in your childhood. Happy 40th Birthday Sesame Street, I’ve enjoyed growing up with you.

Today’s TI&S Blog post was brought to you today by the letter N and the number 10. Tell me about your fondest Sesame Street memories.

References & Inspirations
CNN – 02/11/09 “How do you get to Sesame Street?
Michael Davis “Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street
One thought on “Can You Tell Me How To Get…

Comments are closed.