Just Happy To Be

I’m not sure who this may be for, but I have a feeling that what I have to say may resonate with more people than myself. If you find yourself between these lines, feel free to let me know. Maybe we can help each other out.

During the past few years, I’ve endured some harsh critiques from people. I’ve remained civil to those who made comments about my weight, as if I’m grossly overweight. What fascinates me is that it often comes from individuals who are far from American’s Next Top Model themselves, but I smile and keep going because I know who I am. I recognize that I need to lose some weight, but I’m not unhealthy.

I’ve had comments from people who have made comments of me beginning to lose some hair, although I shave my hair off each week. Some even talked about a few gray hairs that have emerged if I get lazy or busy and not shave every other day.

Everyone once in awhile I will have someone offer some other criticism of me that they don’t like or may not suit them, but I keep smiling and go on because I know who I am. Because some people always have something to say negative, but it doesn’t mean that it is always true.

When you know who you are despite the criticism and misunderstandings you begin to get a kick out of being under estimated. The thing about it all is that I know that I am not alone. I can bet that you too have experience similar comments or witness some of the same gestures as I have.

Why is it that we’re more concerned with what we don’t have than we are focused on what we do have?

I’m not where I want to be in life at this moment, but I am further than where I thought I would be. I may still be chasing what some have called dreams, but at least my language has changed and I see them as realities. I see your dreams as realities, because I haven’t given up on my abilities.

I admit I get tired of hearing some of these things and discouraged at times, I continue to consider myself fortunate. Fortunate, because the evidence of some of your criticisms is proof that I am blessed. Yes, I have gained some weight since the last time we’ve seen each other, but we haven’t seen each other for almost 20 years, life happens. I’m not a teenager anymore. I have begun to loose some hair, but that means I’m not sitting in the barber’s chair for long. Plus I shave my head anyway, so I obviously like having no hair. And although I see a few gray hairs popping up here and there I can only smile, because that means I am still alive and getting older.

Last year I found my true self and I’m cool with it. I see nothing wrong with what I’ve been blessed with and you shouldn’t either. I’m imperfect and make mistakes, but I only know of one man who was flawless and he didn’t go around criticizing people for their flaws and transgressions.

I can begin to express how sincerely happy I am to have the conversations, interactions and the relationships I’m privileged to have each day. Even those who persistently criticize me will someday realize the point I was making with them by not saying to them the things they have said to me, but embracing them and even encouraging them. I’m far from a perfect, although I continue to seek perfection.

Today is another opportunity for us to get it right. My intentions are to not make the same mistakes I’ve made before and keep trying to improve.

Finally, I just want to offer the same advice I continue to say to my 5 year old son. Never give up on yourself. Appreciate who you are and what you are to be.

A few months ago I was fortunate enough to become friends with a businesswoman, author and all around wonderful woman from New York City. She has silently been a positive source of inspiration to me by the phrase she wisely trademarked and is one that I began to incorporate into my own life. “I Can’t Is Not an Option”.

Be Good, Love Yourself & Consider Others.

One thought on “Just Happy To Be

  1. Self-reflection is a great tool, well … if effectively used – and you, my friend, are an example of that. Being happy and sure of yourself is important, as is learning and reflection, as is positive relationships and attitudes.

    Well done Tim as everyone can get something out of this message.

Comments are closed.