Addressing Racial Politics

As both major political parties in the United States are racialized, I want to pose a question to those who affiliate themselves with either party. The fact is that both parties have some major hurdles to clear in terms of diversity within its own ranks.

So if you’re a Democrat, your response should be directed to the Democratic Party. If you’re a Republican, your response should be directed to the Republican Party. This is not an opportunity for you to take a swipe at the other party, but focus on the issues within your own party affiliation.

Questions:

  • If you had to provide a racial description of the overwhelming complexion of the membership within the __________ Party, what would be your response?
  • What can the ___________ Party sincerely do to attract more people of different races, ethnicities and cultures to their party?
  • What has the __________ Party done to place themselves in the cultural position their in today?

If you truly have a clear and open understanding about race, your responses to each question will reflect it.

To reiterate, I only want you to be sincere in your responses. Only speak to the party you affiliate with or have voted for the majority of the time. This is not to take political swipes at the other party.

I look forward to your responses  🙂

One thought on “Addressing Racial Politics

  1. Well, for the most part I’m hesitant to identify myself with organizations, especially political parties, but I feel more “at-home” associating with Democrats, so I’ll speak to the situation in the Democratic Party. I feel like if you looked at the federal, state, and local levels the Dems in elected office are still a majority of white males, but I think it’s safe to say that there are more non-whites and women elected with a D next to their name than with an R. Among the Democratic electorate, I would dare to say that white men might not be a majority.

    While I believe that racial minorities are probably more progressive on welfare and social services issues, I think many of them find fiscal conservatism appealing (especially when you consider the number of Asian- and Hispanic-owned small businesses). On the other hand, there’s also the perception that the Republicans want profiling at airports and to keep out immigrants from south of the border, so that may be why many folks flock to the Democrats.

    I think you’ve pointed it out here before, but when I watched footage from the Tea Party protests, I don’t think I saw a single non-white person. I doubt it’s because non-whites don’t care about out-of-control spending; it probably more has to do with images of 1950s-era massive resistance, with the state sovereignty/Tenth Amendment crowd claiming the federal government has no right to do what it’s doing…just as they did during the integration battle. That’s my take on it — and I’m not saying the Republican Party is full of racists; they just seem to be using the tactics that were justified in the past to perpetuate the Jim Crow laws.

Comments are closed.