How Partisan Are You?

I have a question for everyone who believes they’re open-minded enough to answer it. We all have found ourselves at some point in time irritated with the partisanship found primarily between Democrats and Republicans. The boxes we willingly place ourselves into is an indicator of the limitations we place on ourselves and others.

However alluring or comfortable it may be this is not an opportunity for you to take shots at the opposing party, but a chance to consider the source of the problem. So who amongst the voting population is free enough to seriously answer this question.

Republicans:

If you tend to vote Republican more often than you have for any other political party for whatever the reason may have been, then I ask you to respond to this question.

Name at least three (3) Democrats you have and would vote for again if they was running for office today.

  1. _________________________
  2. _________________________
  3. _________________________

Democrats:

If you tend to vote for the Democrat more often than you have for any other political party for whatever the reason may have been, then I ask you to respond to this question.

Name at least three (3) Republicans you have and would vote for again if they were running for office today.

  1. _________________________
  2. _________________________
  3. _________________________

Republicans, Democrats & Independents:

Those of you who are unable to think of anyone you personally would vote for then I would like for you to think about how you are contributing to the partisanship.

4 thoughts on “How Partisan Are You?

  1. Interesting question, so I’ll give it a shot.

    In terms of national politicians today, that would be difficult because of how political parties have shifted over time. But it push came to shove I’ll take senators McCain (R), Collins (R), Snowe (R), Lugar (R), Harkin (D), Webb (D), Nelson (D), Bauchus (D).

    From the past senators as Howard Baker (R), Hubert Humphrey (D), Everett Dirkson (R), Mike Mansfield (D), Charles Mathius (R), Pat Moynahan (D)

  2. I guess I’ll answer my own question.

    Since I’m still registered as a Democrat I would say that the three Republicans I would consider voting for would be as follows.

    1. Colin Powell
    2. Jack Kemp
    3. J.C. Watts

    Colin Powell could have easily have been the first President who was Black if he wanted to. I believe the GOP missed a significant opportunity to recapture a voter block they once enjoyed before the Southern Strategy.

    I’ve actually written about Jack Kemp on this blog. He truly had my respect when he was living and still does. He upheld the principles of the GOP while having the natural ability to speak to people who the party has pushed away by its policies. He would have made a good President.

    J.C. Watts is conservative, but believe he’s a good guy who wasn’t truly given a chance to rise to his fullest potential within the GOP. I believe it’s just a missed opportunity, because J.C. Watts was alright with me. I would honestly give him a seriously look.

  3. Name at least three (3) Republicans you have and would vote for again if they were running for office today.

    I have never voted for a Republican unless it was against a worse Reoublican.
    I did organize and participate in a successful crossover campaign here in TN-1 that saw local Liberals and Moderates vote in the Republican primary for Phil Roe in an effort to rid the House of former Rep. David Davis.
    But I don’t consider that voting for a Republican as though I chose one over any other party.
    http://ablogination.tn420.org/blog/index.php/2008/02/26/p210

    Still, circumstances often prevail. I don’t like the idea of bucking my own party, but if they’re wrong they’re wrong. There’s only one “wrong”.
    If I had to:

    1. _Ron Paul______ I have no choice but to admit that if Ron Paul ran against, say… Rahm Emanuel I would vote for Paul. Ron Paul is no Republican. He does what he has to to get a chance at electability. He’s a Libertarian that runs as a Repig. Which isn’t much better, but it’s still better than Rahm.

    Ron Paul is somewhat reasonable. A virtue genuine Republicans do not share. Rahm Emanuel has only the best interests of Israel and AIPAC on his mind and is an obstructionist on health care reform.

    2. _Abraham Lincoln______ Oh, wait…..Too bad. He was the last great leader to call himself a Republican.

    3. _Zach Wamp______I mean….if you’re going to vote for a complete and total asshole you might as well go all the way.

    😉

    The people are the most important commodity this nation has. Those who would wish the average American poverty, hunger, and other miseries are something I consider the enemy.
    Therefor, I align myself with those who are considered the opposite of Republican in the eyes of Republicans. By default, they would be inclined to fit more closely with my core beliefs since conservatism is so far from what I call righteous.

    1. Zack Wamp, the C-Street guy. i get whatcha saying. i’m absolutely campaigning against him. I have learned more about Lincoln and at least he had courage, but that was a much different Republican Party then.

Comments are closed.