What is my problem with the Republican Party? (Part 1)

Quick Note: I apologize for the length of this note, but wanted to address as much as I could in response to a question posed to me by email. I share this response not as a slight towards Republicans, but as an opportunity for Republicans to gain a better understanding of why their party is becoming culturally homogenized. I welcome all who wish to comment on any of the points made here or add too it. I would love to hear what you have to add to it.

I ask that you keep in mind my previous post directed towards the Democrats. This is not an opportunity for those members of the Republican Tea Party folks to prove my points with closed-minded, bias and unconscious racism statements about those who are not Republicans. If so, be prepared to be asked some very difficult questions that I’m sure you don’t want to address.

My point here is not to bash the GOP, because I believe the true Republicans are being phased out by a bunch of Tea Party folks posing as Republicans. Personally, it shouldn’t take a Democrat to defend the ideas of the GOP, but I’m fair minded enough to consider my opposition. I know all Republicans are not bad or even unconscious racist, but that’s what it is becoming. I honestly rather contend with real Republicans than the racist who are posing as Republicans. There are some out there, but they’re being forced into to early retirement by a dumber, more unaware, ill prepared, delusional, non-socialized and unconsciously bigoted conservative who has hijaked the grand ole party.

As a gentleman politely, but curiously questioned my political views towards the Republican Party and the many things that I’ve written about the GOP. Then briefly gave me the history of the GOP as it relates to Black Americans, something I already knew. I tuned out briefly to gather my thoughts for how I would respond. I strongly disagreed with what he was saying to me, but wanted to use it as an opportunity to both learn and teach.

Once he concluded he asked me this question. I gave him credit for his approach, because he has obviously read some of the things I’ve written in the past couple years and knew that I wasn’t going to be reactionary. He asked, “What is my problem with the Republican Party?”

I decided to share my response to his question in this way with the hopes that one Republican/Conservative with a mind open enough may gain an understanding of not only the issue I have with the GOP, but what many others have with the Republican Party as it is today.

First, I thank the gentleman who emailed me. I appreciate you reading and the sincerely considering what I have to say about various issues. You are correct; I try not to demonstrate any bias towards people in terms of race. That would be true for politics if it had some measure of fairness to it, but it’s not.

I would say my problem with the GOP is not its existence, but what it has become. I’m extremely disappointed with what it has chosen to adopt and what it has chosen to ignore. The failure to adhere to the principles it was originally founded upon is one of the core reasons for its present cultural, racial and even regional homogenization of its membership.

Although I can respect the Blacks who are Republicans you’ve mentioned I ask you to consider how difficult if not insurmountable the odds they are forced to contend against within the Republican Party to be elevated amongst the ranks of power. The opposition from within the GOP itself waged against its chairman Michael Steele is evidence of some of its problems.

I actually had very few harsh words for Michael Steele before he became Chairman. I disagreed with some of his political ideology, but respected him and acknowledge his competency. Now I’m a Democrat, that’s not proper partisan policy. Personally I believe he has an impossible job on his hands, but he has been placed in a troubling position. I congratulated him and said that I would probably spend more time defending him from attacks from his own Party than opposing him. I understand why he has deflected the argument of tokenism, although my suspicions remain. So the chairmanship of Michael Steele does not prove the GOP is now inclusive when it continues to advocate policies that work against the productiveness of all individuals, not a selective group of entities or those with corporate leaning interests.

I understand the argument some Republicans have against Democrats, but the pattern I’ve noticed in that argument is the avoidance if not all out denial of their own accountability and contributions. If not solely at least the acknowledgment of their participation to the problems they accuse Democrats of. Not everything is the fault of someone else; you have to take responsibility for your actions.

Furthermore, the Republican Party has continued to make the same mistake Democrats has made and many of the subscribers of both parties have, by making electoral assumptions. The most obvious and recent is that Blacks will not support the GOP, so why waste the time seeking their vote. What’s interesting is the absolute dismissal of why that is. In addition to that you perpetuate the mistake by making the same assumptions. Do something about it. The reason why many people including Blacks are so turned off by the GOP is that Republicans continue to make electoral assumptions about them.

The example often given to support the argument that Blacks, Latinos, Asians, Muslims, etc… are more prone to vote for the Democrat is the same argument I offer to you to reconsider. You say that it’s a waste of time for any Republican to seriously seek their vote, but this is the problem and electoral assumption that Democrats are happy to hear you make. And they will continue to exploit and benefit from your mistake as long as you continue to make it. You keep making the same mistake over and over and over again which in return helps build, strengthen and ensures a Democratic vote.

If you continue to make this assumption the resentment and animosity that Blacks, Latinos and a growing number of others the GOP continues to ignore will continue to grow. How hard is this to understand? I’m literally telling you what the problem is, but so many refuse to listen or realize the role the GOP is playing or being played on in terms of how it’s viewed by ‘others’.

***TO BE CONTINUED TOMORROW***

2 thoughts on “What is my problem with the Republican Party? (Part 1)

  1. “What is my problem with the Republican Party?”

    Heh, 🙂

    By all means, give him my email. I’d be glad to answer that question.

    Simply, Republicans care more about money and things than they do people and planet. Republicans are intellectually and spiritually shallow. Sitting in church for hours a week then spitting on Lazarus when the time comes to help.
    Republicans are self-centered. That is evident when they say “my tax money” as though no one other than them pays taxes.

    Republicans have absolutely no vision or foresight. The look for the gain here and now and never, ever consider the consequences of their actions further down the road.
    The war on Iraq is a perfect example. Bush abandons the hunt for the perpetrators of 9/11 and seeing dollar signs, attacks a country that did nothing to us without regard to the lives of our soldiers, the lives of completely innocent Iraqis, the future generations of America hating terrorists that are and will continue to generate as a result of the illegal war and obviously, the economic disaster caused by corporate greed and deregulation.

    Tunnel vision, self-centrism, narcissism, delusions of grandeur, racism, calssism, environmental necrophilia….

    They care only for themselves and suffer from a psychological aversion to any view or opinion contrary to their own.
    They are shameless and rabidly hypocritical as is evident here:
    http://www.dccc.org/page/content/hhof/

    They oppose the Stimulus efforts yet take credit for the jobs created in their districts and states. Shameless? Hypocritical? Am I making this up?

    I could spend the next two days writing a reply to such a self-absorbed question. Just the fact that he asked you that is all the evidence needed to see that Republicans are completely and totally in denial as to their own catastrophic wrongdoings. In and of it’s self a mental illness.
    They blame Obama for an economic FAIL that has been in the making since 1999/2000 and caused by a Republican congressional majority.

    All I can say is LOL.

    1. I gave him credit for at least asking me. Most are too afraid to even ask. He seems to be more of an old school Republican, not the Sarah Palin, FOX News, Dick Cheney Republicans. That’s probably the only reason I didn’t come down too hard on him because he recognized some of the mistakes made, but just didn’t see why I wasn’t a Republican. I think he mistake my consideration or willingness to listen to them as me somehow secretly wanting to be one. The DNC would have to endorse slavery for me to consider becoming a Republican. Yeah there’s some that I don’t have a big problem with like Colin Powell, but most of them are not in politics anymore and criticized by their own party for being moderate. I even gave Michael Steele a sliver of credit before he became chairman for at least having the courage to talk to someone like myself, but my beef with Black Republicans is more of disappointment than animosity towards them. When I look at some of them and not consider their political affiliations I don’t have many problems with them, but it’s when they begin to talk as a Republican is when the disagreement comes in. But I’ll address that soon enough.

      I’m basically have written the GOP off. The DNC is coming close to it if they don’t start acting like Democrats instead of Republicans.

Comments are closed.