My Problem with the Republican Party (Part 2)

Quick Note: I apologize for the length of this note, but wanted to address as much as I could in response to a question posed to me by email. I share this response not as a slight towards Republicans, but as an opportunity for Republicans to gain a better understanding of why their party is becoming culturally homogenized. I welcome all who wish to comment on any of the points made here or add too it. I would love to hear what you have to add to it.

I ask that you keep in mind my previous post directed towards the Democrats. This is not an opportunity for those members of the Republican Tea Party folks to prove my points with closed-minded, bias and unconscious racism statements about those who are not Republicans. If so, be prepared to be asked some very difficult questions that I’m sure you don’t want to address.

My point here is not to bash the GOP, because I believe the true Republicans are being phased out by a bunch of Tea Party folks posing as Republicans. Personally, it shouldn’t take a Democrat to defend the ideas of the GOP, but I’m fair minded enough to consider my opposition. I know all Republicans are not bad or even unconscious racist, but that’s what it is becoming. I honestly rather contend with real Republicans than the racist who are posing as Republicans. There are some out there, but they’re being forced into to early retirement by a dumber, more unaware, ill prepared, delusional, non-socialized and unconsciously bigoted conservative who has hijaked the grand ole party.

Conclusion of My Problem with the GOP

When all that we hear and see are Republican congressman and women, Republican senators use racially tinged language that interestingly falls short of full blown racist talk, those messages and images are received.

A Georgia Congressman calls then, Sen. Obama “Uppity”. Geoff Davis, a Republican Congressman from Kentucky calls then Presidential Candidate and Sen. Obama a “Boy”. It’s not a poor choice of words, but what you meant.

These are just two terms cut short of their full racialized meaning, but still understood. Those who may not know or understand the racial history of these terms in reference to Black men allow me to give you the quick definition. People use to call Black men who they perceived were acting smart or were better versed than them as “Uppity Niggers” a very commonly used slur towards Black men and women during Jim Crow. Boy was also used during this period towards grown men who were Black as a demeaning term. It was short for “Nigger Boy John”. Now I admit that some younger and historically unaware Blacks along with Whites and many others may not know or understand these phrases on their surface. That’s why they were spoken in the way they were.

I won’t spend too much time briefly teaching you about the American history they don’t teach you, but you will recall the reason why I played upon the theme of “Consider Others” throughout 2009 on many of the topics written on my blog and elsewhere.

One more note, this is why Rep. Joe Wilson, Republican congressman from South Carolina did more damage than the GOP realized in his outburst. It’s the instinct lack of respect many Republicans who has subscribe to the ideology of the former Dixiecrats that lead to such a rude interruption. This is why so many called Joe Wilson a racist. He may feel that he isn’t and perhaps he may not be, but he resembled one with his language.

Now he would not have been called a racist if the President were White, because it wouldn’t have the same racial history to support such a claim. White men called other White men liars, but never in that setting or context. You may say that it’s not about race, but it’s about what you don’t understand or have taken the opportunity to acknowledge is the real issue.  It’s not just Republicans, but many are so afraid to speak openly address the factors of race and how it has impact their lives and what role they play in either perpetuating the problems or working towards a solution they miss the opportunity to bridge the gap. Speaking about the role of race has played in your life also helps clarify your own assumptions and misconceptions about race that you unconsciously subscribed to. If you can’t do that then you must reexamine yourself and make a sincere effort to learn.

We may always have those who have found comfort in believing race isn’t an issue, because they haven’t experienced the affects of it. Many have been normalized to believe this fallacy through repetition, lack of socialization and being told not to bring it up. Some even make the mistake of assuming the inclusion of a few makes up for the exclusion of so many.

The Republican Party today does itself a disservice by continuing in the divisive and exclusionary practices it has latched itself to. The Tea Party is destroying you and is pushing you further to the right. The big tent is folding under the weight of unrecognized discriminatory language used by the leaders it has chosen to speak for it. It will continue to fold under the structure it has today, because the proxy of patriotism it uses is thinly veiled and provides no protection of the insurgence of the unconscious racist who uses it as a political voice. But screaming name calling and criticizing doesn’t birth policy, but places any hope of  resolution on the respirator.

So to the gentleman who asked me the question and my thoughts about the GOP I thank you for feeling that you can approach me to ask it. That’s progress. You may recall me saying that I believed that not all Republicans are bad, evil or even racist. I may disagree with you, but I’m willing to work with you, but you have to unclench your fist to shake my hand in agreement.

The Republican Party has a problem on its hand that it refuses to address.
Finally I want to address a particular group of Republicans who I’ve found myself more disappointed in than any others in the GOP. The silence of Black Republicans is disappointing, because I do listen and respect most of you enough to believe what you’re saying. I’m not a Republican and due to the conduct and how the party has been represented and presented to me I seriously doubt I would ever be a Republican. But it blows me away that you’re not saying anything to what you know is not right. My problem with the Republican Party isn’t necessarily the party itself, but the overwhelming silence of the members who are sitting back watching it go against what it once stood for.

I may explain the problem to you, but it is up to you as the Republican to resolve it. You can allow your suspicions of what I say to you govern your actions in a politically partisan manner, but you do so at your own electoral peril. I’m not lying to you. I’m actually trying to help you out by trying to explain the problem.

Now you can do something about it or continue your walk towards what will eventually be the absolute political conversion to what is known as the Conservative Citizens Council.

I have many more reasons why I am not a Republican, but will simply save that for another day. I only touched on one part of the GOP who I believed who stood true to the foundation of the party, but I have only found Colin Powell brave and courageous enough to speak truth to power that now has a grip upon the Republican Party and its ideology. I’ll address this group and others within the GOP soon.

