What an Atheist Taught Me About God

Let me begin by saying to all who may read this that my intentions are in no way meant to disparage anyone who has chosen Atheism, Christianity or any other belief. You have the free-will to believe whatever you choose. Just because I choose to practice the Christian beliefs doesn’t mean I can not learn from those who may choose otherwise. I believe this is one of the greatest faults in the world today; we’re too busy trying to make people into what we want them to be instead of accepting who they are. Once we learn this lesson, perhaps we can all move forward in understanding each other.

This also isn’t an opportunity for those on any side of the belief of God to question each others beliefs in order to score a theological point. I can only speak as a Christian from the perspective of my own experiences. It’s not for me to judge you on yours. The God I believe has sovereignty over how I choose to live my life. Despite what others of any faith including my own may choose to disagree with me upon, I believe that in order for me to be true to the teachings of Jesus Christ I must love everyone as he does; with sincerity.

Once we can begin being sincere you have no issues accepting people for who they are and not for what they are.

What an Atheist taught me about God was essentially proof to me of a Godly principle. Discover the humanity in others, despite their differences.

Now that’s actually very simple to do, but the difficulty comes from our unwillingness to do it.

I listened to him first because he used the appropriate approach. He saw our commonality in that we both understood the affects of racism has had on people throughout the world. He also wasn’t trying to convert me and felt that I was fair enough to do the same.

Essentially he was telling me that many Christians in particular fail to see the image of God. In the ways we continue to discriminate against those who are not Christians. Even those who proclaim to be Christians have so confused and perverted the gospel that 11 o’clock on a Sunday morning is the most segregated hour in America.

If you just look at the ways many misuse the Bible to justify discrimination or some bias they have. How many people could you have saved if you would just listen to them, accept them for who they are and not what they are? How unified would the body of Christ essentially be? But it’s not about Christ is it? It’s about our perceptions of Christ. We want to appear like Christ, but not exactly.

When Christians take the time to really try to learn about the teachings, examples and life of Jesus Christ from the perspective of Christ and not the church or man you have to conclude that Jesus was gangsta. Now I don’t mean that in any derogatory way and forgive me modern urbanization of describing Christ, but some of you get what I’m saying. Seriously, if you don’t have a passion for Christ then why follow him? Isn’t that what Jesus would say.

The demented ideology that takes the position through the conclusion of their actions that someone is less than because they’re not like you in some way is what continues to ruin the world. Regardless of what or who you believe, we all have been guilty of God damning someone.

I want to go one, but really trying to temper what I write in order to provide those who may read it the opportunity to take what they can from it. But understand there’s more to come, perhaps under a different title.

