The Pathology of White Privilege

This is only one reason why I remain motivated to keep moving forward on writing, studying and having conversations about race, culture and ethnicity. I hope to offer insight to all who is willing to learn.

So many people I have encounter online has wanted to discredit or disprove what I’ve presented. It’s unfortunate, but far too often it has been from someone who can only provide a right-wing rhetoric and/or talking points, but never can address the issue, just deny it exist. I’ve learned from many of these individuals that the facts, history, circumstances or reality of others don’t matter. But just because you have chosen not to believe it or you don’t see it doesn’t make it untrue.

Some naively have taking the position that since a Black man is President, racism is no longer an issue. It’s the argument that says, “It’s not my fault for what happen to Blacks. I didn’t own slaves. I don’t think my family owned slaves. So why am I being held responsible? I’m not a racist.”

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard this and how many times I’ve tried to explain it to them. I’m just as critical if not more towards non-whites who deliberately or unconsciously discriminate against someone on the basis of race than I am whites who are oblivious to it. There are some who over time have got what I’m saying and realized that I’m not coming against you, but trying to make you more aware.

Tim Wise is someone who does that well and a person who continues to inspire and motivate me to keep moving forward on this issue. Maybe one day I will be able to teach at his level of proficiency.

The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 1)

The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 2)

The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 3)

The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 4)

The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 5)


The Pathology of White Privilege (Part 6)

3 thoughts on “The Pathology of White Privilege

    1. It’s all good. I’ve basically have grown tired trying to patiently and repeatedly say the same things on this subject and similar ones. I’m just wanting people to get it and hopefully finish a book that can serve as a guideline or teaching aide in someway.

      But I haven’t seen anything he’s said that you really have to worry about when considering our past conversations. You appear open-minded and open-hearted.

  1. Too many people take it personally when race is brought up. True, no one in my history ever owned a slave, but it’s not about me. It’s about racism.

    I still believe that it is a dark part of human nature that leads us to look down on those who are different either by color, religion, gender, class, physical appearance etc., but then again, we’re not animals. We’re not supposed to cling to our nature. We’re supposed to cling to free will and overcome primitive instincts like tribalism.
    I’m Irish/American Indian. I know plenty about tribal inclinations in human nature. 🙂
    We were created to evolve. As we see with the Tea Party, that’s not always the case.

    Often, when race is the topic, some people go on the defensive almost instinctively. That is what needs to be overcome to have the discussions we need to have in order to exist as one race under God. As it should be.

Comments are closed.